Political Science Data Resources
Warming Up
- Data is collected by governments, corporations, nonprofits, research organizations, and individual researchers.
- Think about who will be likely to collect data on the topics you’re interested in.
- Follow the leads from existing research on similar topics.
Starting Points
- Statistics/Data Indexes – major subscribed databases
- Data Services – from the libraries
- Data by Subject - for selected disciplines
- QuickSearch – search for “Statistics” and topic
- CD-ROMs at Alexander – for locally available files
General Databases - World
- World Bank Data – easiest comprehensive collection of economic, governmental, and social data. Annual
- UNStats, UNData, and UNCTAD from the United Nations.
- Global Financial Data – more than just finance, longest historical series
- International Financial Statistics – all economic data, but monthly
More World
- OECD.Stat – In-depth coverage of developed countries (click on Statistics)
- Armed Conflict Location and Event Data (ACLED)
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online – includes statistical data on Asian countries
- Correlates of War - international historical collection of data relating to warfare and influences on war
- China Data Online – official statistics from China
- GDELT Event Database
- Human Rights Data Project (CIRI) Cingranelli-Richards Human Rights Dataset contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for 15 internationally recognized human rights for 195 countries, annually from 1981
- Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research
- For international trade, there are a number of more specialized sources, including COMTRADE, the trade database of the UN Statistics Commission; the WTO’s trade and tariff statistics, and the World Bank’s WITS trade data.
- Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD)
- World Handbook of Poltical Indicators and continued here
- World Health Organization – Statistical Information System
- UNESCO Data Centre
General - US
- Statistical Abstract of the United States - This provided an overview of US statistics from all major sources. After 138 years in existence, funding was cut, and it ceased publication. It has been replaced by a privatized version, the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
- Census
- American Factfinder
- BLS – Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Data.gov - large repository of detailed government data sources
- General Social Survey - ongoing survey of US population with questions on a variety of attitudes, from 1972 to present.
- Immigration Statistics (Department of "Homeland" Security)
- NCES – National Center of Education Statistics
- NCHS – National Center of Health Statistics
- Many other agencies!
Mapping and Data - US
- Social Explorer - all Census (plus religion) 1790 to present, very easy to use
- PolicyMap - many economic and social indicators
Archives – ICPSR, Roper
- ICPSR– the largest and most important archive of social science data
- Includes major projects such as General Social Survey, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, Terrorism, and more
- Roper Center– archive specializing in polls and surveys
- iPoll provides access to US polling data
- Roper Express provides complete archives
- May not include ALL Roper polls – some are commercial
Archives, continue
- National Data Archives are on the rise, e.g., UK, France, Finland, Australia
- IFDO – International Federation of Data Organizations, for more links
More Polls
- Arab Barometer - opinion polls on Arab countries
- Eurobarometer – opinion poll series on Europe
- LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion
- Latinobarometro – also Latin American surveys
- Polling the Nations – searchable international surveys
- Harris – searchable archive of Harris polls (major US poll organization)
- Eagleton – New Jersey polls
- NORC - National Opinion Research Center – publications here, data often in ICPSR
Elections and other topics
- American National Election Studies
- American Religion Data Archive
- Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
- Constituency Level Elections Archive (CLEA)
- Constituency-Level Elections Dataset (CLE)
- OpenSecrets data on political contributions and PACs
- Supreme Court Judicial Databases recording decisions of the Court
- VoteWorld the international legislative voting roll call site
Other universities have excellent data sites
Searchable Sites
- IQSS DATAVERSE – large interdisciplinary repository of individual projects
- DATA PASS – archives of specially preserved data
- OFFSTATS – find state statistical agencies for most nations here
“Hidden” data (not from Libraries website or free on the web)
- WRDS – detailed financial reports, stock prices, indices
- Please consult with me if you are not finding the data you need! There are many informal or less than obvious sources of data.
See Data Services for further information on the Libraries Data services.
