Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Law and Legislation
- CQ Almanac Online
- Narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that the U.S. Congress considered during a congressional session between 1945 and 2020. Policy Tracker feature allows you to explore a specific policy topic (e.g., "Abortion and Family Planning;" "Bilingual Education and ESL;" "Homelessness;" etc.,) over time. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Congress.gov
- The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Browse or search legislation from the 93d (1973) Congress to the present. You can also search the full text of the Congressional Record from the 101st (1989) Congress to the present, and browse or search the full text of House and Senate committee reports from the 104th (1995) Congress to the present.
- Congressional Publications
- Historical and current Congressional information and legislative publications. Committee Prints, House & Senate Reports, House & Senate Documents, 1970-present; Hearings, 1824-2003, complete hearing - 2004-present, selected testimony transcripts and submitted statements, and in some cases, entire published hearings; Legislative Histories, 1969-present. Rutgers-restricted Access
- HeinOnline
- A legal research collection. In addition to searching scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, HeinOnline collections include the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register Library, and the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Westlaw Campus Research
- Includes law review and law journal articles, the full text of court opinions; statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; a law encyclopedia, and Black's Law Dictionary. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Major Federal Legislation Concerned with Child Protection, Child Welfare, and Adoption
- The Children's Bureau, May 2019.
- A summary of Federal legislation since 1974 that has had a significant impact on the field. Includes an overview of each act and its major provisions. The full text of the acts can be found on Information Gateway’s Index of Child Welfare Laws
New Jersey Legislation
New Jersey Legislature Home Page
Includes legislative bills with histories back to 1996; the New Jersey State Constitution;
a searchable index to New Jersey Statutes;
legislative reports; and transcripts of
public hearings