Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Industry Research: Articles & Case Studies

Consulting Firms

Case studies, industry overviews, and research reports related to many industries are available from these consulting firms:

In particular, Deloitte Insights recently provided a series of Industry Outlook reports for eight large sectors.

Frost & Sullivan offers a selection of industry reports as recorded teleconference presentations in their Analyst Briefing Archives (registration required).

Magazine & News Articles

After you examine some industry overviews, you are probably ready to begin searching for articles in periodicals and the business press. Some of the sources for periodicals and newspapers include these databases:

  • Business Source Premier. Searchable abstracts of articles selected from several thousand periodicals and journals. Between 70-80 percent of the items also include full text. (Rutgers-restricted access)
  • Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive). Searchable full text of many business periodicals and regional newspapers; international in scope. Beginning dates of coverage vary considerably according to source. (Rutgers-restricted access)

You can also consult the many titles listed on the guide to Industry News and Trade Magazines as well as Business News Sources on the Web.

Other Resources

Track political campaign contributions and lobbying expenditures by industry sector with OpenSecrets.org's Alphabetical Listing of Industries.

Dozens of Small Business Snapshots or industry sectors are profiled by the SBDC National Information Clearinghouse.

Consult the Small Business Administration's list of Business Guides by Industry for other publications of interest.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.