Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Sociology: Sociological Data

Resources for your research

Sociological Data Resources

Resources for finding data and updated information on sociological topics.

National survey data, polls, and other data is available from researchers and universities.

This collection of data enables the user to compare and examine demographic information from different countries.

From the U.S. Census Bureau and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics is the CPS for labor information from surveyed Americans.

This libguide can help find data resources by specific subject area.

Data series from organizations in the U.S, other countries, and non-profits.  Topics range population and income, housing and construction, and other statistical information.

Statistical data and research on trends in different disciplines.

This site provides information about the beliefs and attitudes of Americans and trends in opinions that help shape policies.

The GSS conducts interviews and surveys to gather the latest attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors of American society to report on.

Reports, data sets, and presentations on demographic, economic, and political topics in relation to other aspects of sociology.  Other resources are provided here as well.

Data by country for GDP, exchange rates, trade, and consumer price index.

For resources and data on poverty including papers, fact sheets, and reports.

Census and survey data collected throughout the world over time can be accessed and tracked/compared for changes.

Labor statistics to observe labor issues and changes in conditions or the market and the impact that has on workers.

International survey records that can be viewed by year or topic such as social network, role of government, environment, national identity, and leisure time.

Public files to access research and data, browse publications, and compare results.

A source for migration data as well as insight into refugee movements.

From the CDC, this site provides information on the health of populations, historical surveys, and health provider surveys.

For updated statistics on mental health, specific illness information, and professional reports.

Different groups of men and women are surveyed at different times in connection with labor and markets.

NORC explores topics such as economics, education, health, and society.

Survey information offers insight into family arrangements and the ways in which people are living with one another.  This is connected to aspects of family size, employment, and marriage.

Access to statistical data and survey reports gathered internationally that can be browsed by country and theme.

Samples of U.S citizens are surveyed for information on employment, child bearing, income, and education.

This site provides information on recent trends and event, public issues, and how people are perceiving what is going on around them.  This is supplemented through gaining public opinion data through polls and gathering demographic information.

Survey research that provides insight into the opinions of the public in the U.S and globally.

This site enables viewers to browse by location to see the positive environmental and social changes taking place over time.

This archive includes materials such as surveys, polls, and administrative records surrounding topics like political/social/economic behaviors and attitudes.

This site provides users with access to demographic data sources and publications.

Collection of data files and an archive of past surveys and reports.

From the United Nations, these reports observe women's experiences and situations compared to men's throughout the world in terms of social and economic qualities.

Access to international statistical databases to find information on populations, education, health, crime, labor, etc.

Able to browse by theme (education & literacy, science, culture, or communication & information) as well as country to find survey and statistcal information.

Publications from the FBI provide reliable data on criminal activity to indicate social changes and inform law enforcement operations.

The census provides insight into population demographics by region and can help track changes in areas and people over time.

Data sets on global finances, consumption of resources, and living standards.

This page reviews information on factors of health throughout the world, along different lines of work, and in the medical services available.

Created and operated by social scientists, this international survey reflects data about individuals' beliefs, attitudes, and values.

Resources and Tools For Analyzing/Displaying Data

See also offerings by the New Brunswick Libraries:

Data Services

Data Management

GIS (Geographic Information Systems)

Qualitative Research

Graduate Specialist workshops on Python, R, NVIVO, GIT, GIS, Scalar, Palladio, etc.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.