Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Selected Books to Get You Started

Guide to library resources in Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Selected Reference Books

In addition to browsing this list, you can also use the Library Catalog to help you find reference works related to your specific topic. Using an Advanced Search, type your keyword(s) into a Words Anywhere search [ex. Mexico and Politics] and select "REF" from the Sub-location drop-down menu.

Latin American studies : an annotated bibliography of core works / Ana María Cobos and Ana Lya Sater. Jefferson, N.C. ; London : McFarland & Co., c2002. ALEX REF Z1601.C536 2002

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures / edited by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. L*pez. 3 vols. New York : Routledge, 2000. ALEX, CARR REF F1406.E515 2000

A reference guide to Latin American history / James D. Henderson, Helen Delpar, Maurice P. Brungardt [editors] ; Richard N. Weldon, technical editor. Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2000. ALEX REF F1410.R395 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin American politics / edited by Diana Kapiszewski ; Alexander Kazan, assistant editor. Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2002. ALEX REF F1410.E56 2002

Handbook of research on the international relations of Latin American and the Caribbean / G. Pope Atkins. Boulder, Colo. : Westveiw Press, 2001. ALEX REF JZ1519.A981 2001

Historical dictionaries of Latin America Series. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press.

Chile, 2005. ALEX REF F3054.B5 2005

Mexico, 2008. ALEX REF F1204.B74 2008

Encyclopedia of slave resistance and rebellion / edited by Junius P. Rodriguez. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007. CARR REF E447.E53 2007

Historical dictionary of U.S.-Latin American relations / David W. Dent. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005. ALEX REF F1418.D468 2005

Pop culture Latin America! : media, arts, and lifestyle / Lisa Shaw, Stephanie Dennison. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2005. ALEX REF F1414.2.S495 2005

Latin America : a bibliography of works in English from 1970 to the present / Juan Manuel Pérez. [Philadelphia] : Xlibris, c2004. ALEX REF Z1601.P46 2004

Selected E-Books Available at Rutgers

ProQuest Ebook Central (RU Login)

Cambridge Histories Online (RU login):

The Cambridge History of Latin America. 11 vols. / edited by Leslie Bethell. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1984-

The Cambridge economic history of Latin America / edited by Victor Bulmer-Thomas, John H. Coatsworth, Roberto Cortés Conde. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006. ALEX REF HC125.C29 2006

The new Cambridge modern history / edited by G.R. Elton. Vol. 12, Chapter 19: Latin America.

The Cambridge history of the native peoples of America / edited by Bruce G. Trigger and Wilcomb E. Washburn. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1996-

The Cambridge history of Christianity / edited by Margaret M. Mitchell, Frances M. Young and K. Scott Bowie. Vol. 8: World Christianities, c. 1815-1914. Chapter 24: Latin America: the church and national independence by John Lynch

The Cambridge world history of food. 2 vols. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, c2000.

The Cambridge world history of human disease / editor, Kenneth F. Kiple ; executive editor, Rachael Rockwell Graham ; associate editors, David Frey ... [et al.] ; assistant editors, Alicia Browne ... [et al.]. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1993.

The Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature / edited by F. Abiola Irele and Simon Gikandi. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.

The Cambridge history of Latin American literature. 3 vols. Edited by Roberto González Echevarría and Enrique Pupo-Walker. Cambridge; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)


Latin America: A New Interpretation
Laurence Whitehead. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.

Caribbean Literature (RU Login)

Reference Sources by Country

Argentina

Argentina / Alan Biggins, compiler. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, c1991. ALEX Z1611.B62 1991

Argentina: a chronology and fact book, 1516-1973, compiled and edited by Russell H. Fitzgibbon. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1974. ALEX F2831.F5

Brazil

Brasil, obras de referência, 1965-1998 : uma bibliografia comentada / Ann Hartness. Brasília, DF : Briquet de Lemos Livros, 1999. ALEX REF Z1671.H38 1999

Guatemala

Guatemala. Rev. and expanded ed. / Ralph Lee Woodward, Jr., compiler. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, c1992. AEX Z1461.W66 1992

Honduras

Honduras / Pamela F. Howard-Reguindin, compiler ; with the assistance of Martha E. McPhail. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio, 1992. ALEX Z1471.H68 1992

Mexico

Mexico. Rev. and expanded ed. / George D.E. Philip, compiler. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press, c1993. ALEX Z1411.P45 1993

Nicaragua

Bibliografía nacional de Nicaragua, 1979-1989 / Biblioteca Nacional "Rubén Darío" ; [director y compilador general, Jorge Eduardo Arellano].Managua : Instituto Nicaragüense de Cultura, 1991. ALEX Z1481.B53 1991

Nicaragua. Rev. and expanded ed. / Ralph Lee Woodward, Jr, compiler. Oxford ; Santa Barbara, Calif. ; Clio, c1994. ALEX Z1481.W66 1994

Paraguay

Paraguay : a bibliography of bibliographies / Jerry W. Cooney. Austin, TX : SALALM Secretariat, Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas at Austin, 1997. ALEX REF Z1821.C66 1997

Venezuela

Nuevos aportes a la Bibliografía afrovenezolana : datos recolectados desde la publicación de la Bibliografía afrovenezolana en la revista Montalban no. 5, Caracas, 1976 / Angelina Pollak-Eltz.Caracas : Centro de Religiones Comparadas, Universidad Católica Andrés Bello, 1983. ALEX Z1937.N4P64 1976 Suppl.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.