The Rise and Fall of the Spanish Empire

Selection of digitized primary source collections collaboratively prepared by a group of Latin American Studies Librarians.

Excellent collection of documents, biographies, bibliographies and country portals of Spanish Latin America..It is part of the larger Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes.The link "Manuscripts" leads to the listing of the digitized manuscripts.

This portal brings together sources and documents regarding the history of Mexico. In Spanish.

A project by the History Department of Fordham University, it points to sources in different countries of Latin America.

The Mapas Project, from the Digital Humanities Center, University of Oregon, focuses on the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. It includes images that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

"The online edition of the facsimile of the Popol Wuj is to provide the Mayan peoples with access to the oldest surviving written version of
their tzijs in a digital version available on the internet." This is a project from Ohio State University.

Organized by themes including places, names,formats, etc., this project is developed and maintained by the Biblioteca Nacional de Chile. It includes resources from 12500 AC to 1900s. In Spanish.

This open access collection presents pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean. This project is maintained by the Northeastern University.

This collection of 715 digitized works comes mainly from a donation made to Cornell University by the Bolivian bookseller, Alfredo Montalvo, who has supplied the university with library materials. The pamphlets document a century of Bolivian literate culture, beginning in 1848.

The collection includes scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

"Collection consists of letters, documents and transcripts relating to the discovery, conquest and colonization of Brazil, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela, the Moluccas, and the Philippines; and to the Casa de Contratación and the Council of the Indies. Correspondents include the kings of Spain and their emissaries in the New World. Transcripts are from the 1780s and mostly in the hand of Antonio de Ugina."

Collection includes documents and manuscripts such as The Papers of the United States Mexico Boundary Commission (1849–1856), and extensive archive compiled by Mexico’s commissioner José Salazar Ilarregui, tracing the establishment of the present border between the United States and Mexico following the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (1848) and the Gadsden Purchase Treaty (1853). The most extensive collection focuses on the military administration of Cuba from 1820 up to the Spanish American War. Another major facet includes the manuscripts related to the indigenous civilizations and the natural history of the Americas, such as The Zapotec Genealogy of Macuilxochitl (Oaxaca, Mexico, circa 1570) considered the earliest extant Zapotec pictorial manuscript recording fifteen generations of rulers dating back to the 13th century.