Women and the Civil Rights Movement

Star-Ledger

Full-text access to the Newark Star-Ledger is available from 1989 to the present as part of Access World News (Rutgers-restricted Access).

The Dana Library has the Newark Star-Ledger on microfilm going back to 1980; microfilm reels from August 1, 1945 to December 2003 are also available from the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick. The Newark Public Library also has the Star-Ledger in its entirely (1939 forward) as well as its predecessor, the Newark Star Eagle (1916-1939), available on microfilm.

The Newark Public Library has made the Newark News, New Jersey's primary newspaper for much of the twentieth century, as well as the Newark Sunday Call, a major independent weekly newspaper, available for searching and full text retreival. Newark Evening News 1883-1972/Newark Sunday Call 1872-1946

African American Newspapers

The Newark Public Library has digitized their African American Newark Newspapers collection. The collection consists of individual issues of African-American newspapers published in Newark, including the Newark Herald, Advance, Herald Advance and New Jersey Herald News published from the 1930s to the 1960s.

The above collection does not include the New Jersey Afro-American, which was published in Newark from 1941 to 1988. Newark Public has the newspaper on microfilm, as does the Rutgers Alexander Library in New Brunswick.

Newark Black Newspapers Collection

Under the leadership of Leroi Jones / Amiri Baraka, the four newspapers in this collection – Black News, Black New Ark, Black Newark, and Unity and Struggle– were published between 1968 and 1979. The Rutgers Dana Library Newark Black Newspapers Collection is now digitized and searchable.

Detailed holdings:

Black Newark
Vol. 1 No. 1-3, April - November 1968

Black News
Published by: Black People of Newark
Vol.1 No.4 (1969)

Black New ark
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 1 No. 5 (April 1972) - Vol. 2 No. 14 (Dec. 1973) [Incomplete]

Unity and Struggle
Published by: Committee for Unified Newark
Vol. 3 No. 1 (Jan/Feb. 1974) - Vol. 8 No. 1/2 (Feb. 1979) [Incomplete]

Putting the Black Ink Back into Print: Black Newark/Black New Art

Jennifer Caroccio Maldonado. New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal 8(1), Winter 2022, 34-49.

On the importance of Black Newark and the subsequent titles, for the history of Newark and the history of the Black Power movement.