Women and the Civil Rights Movement

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Academic Search Premier

The basic multidisciplinary index with a focus on the arts and humanities. Especially good source for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes PAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, the primary databases for political science and public policy. Rutgers-restricted Access

JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar

When off-campus, use the Library's link to Google Scholar to make it easier to link to Rutgers-restricted resources.

History

America: History and Life

1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Women and Gender

Women's Studies International

1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.

GenderWatch

Indexes academic, radical, community and independent presses focusing on topics of women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. 1970- Rutgers-restricted Access.

Literature and Film

MLA International Bibliography

1926- . The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studies. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access

Literature Online (LION)

In addition to the full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, you can select "Criticism" to search over 430 full-text literature journals as well as citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text

A comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics for film and television. Includes full-text for more than 100 journals and 100 books, including Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present, as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. Primary coverage 1990 to the present; selective coverage earlier.  Rutgers-restricted Access

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full-text coverage of more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more. Many major journals searchable back to early 1900s.Rutgers-restricted Access

Music

Music Index

Primary index to music literature covering over 850 music periodicals in more than 40 countries. Rutgers-restricted Access

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

The most comprehensive index to music literature, covering over 10,000 journals and 178 countries. Rutgers-restricted Access

RIPM Jazz Periodicals

A collection of over 100 full-text and full-image digitized jazz journals, primarily historic titles that ceased publication in the 20th century. Rutgers-restricted Access

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the   button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request electronic delivery of the article.