Skip to Main Content

Graphic Design Capstone: Common Ground

Sound Effects

BBC Sound Effects
Over 33,000 sound clips from across the world from the past 100 years. These include clips made by the BBC Radiophonic workshop, recordings from the Blitz in London, special effects made for BBC TV and Radio productions, as well as 15,000 recordings from the Natural History Unit archive. Also allows you to make and share your own mixes and soundscapes using the ‘mixer mode’ function.

Audio Archives

Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Over 15,000,000 recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
The Freedom Archives
"Over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements...Our collection includes weekly news, poetry, music programs; in-depth interviews and reports on social and cultural issues; numerous voices from behind prison walls; diverse activists; and pamphlets, journals and other materials from many radical organizations and movements."

Music Libraries

The National Jukebox
Recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives, including more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Over 3000 online audio recordings (over 45,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access
Naxos Music Library
An on-line library of more than 2 million tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Primarily classical music but also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. Rutgers-restricted Access
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
A collection of digitized ethnomusicological field recordings, accompanied by field notebooks, interviews, photographs, films, and more. It brings together recordings and related materials from over 60 global sites. Rutgers-restricted Access
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries
Contact the Libraries
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.