Reading Latina/o/x/e Literature
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- A basic multidisciplinary database, ASP indexes both news magazines (Time back to 1929, Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report) and scholarly journals. Especially strong for arts and humanities titles; also good resource for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access
Can't resist the urge to Google?
- Google Scholar
- Use the Library's link to Google Scholar.
Disciplinary Databases
Literature
- MLA International Bibliography
- 1926- . The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studies. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Literature Online (LION)
- In addition to the full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, you can select "Criticism" to search over 300 full-text literature journals as well as citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Latin American and Latinx Studies
- Hispanic-American Periodical Index [HAPI]
- 1970- . The major multidisciplinary periodical index for Latin American and Latinx Studies. Indexes over 400 scholarly journals published in the U.S. and Latin America. Rutgers-restricted Access
- PRISMA
- Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales Y Humanisticas. Searchable database of full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Rutgers-restricted Access
- SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
- Full text articles, most in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, from Latin American journals, as well as journals from Spain and South Africa.
- CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanos en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
- Index to articles and other documents from approximately 1,500 social science and humanities serials published in Latin America and the Caribbean.
History
- America: History and Life
- 1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Abstracts
- 1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Gender and Sexuality
- GenderWatch
- 1970- Indexes articles relating to women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes non-mainstream publications. Rutgers-restricted Access
- LGBTQ+ Source
- Includes the full text of more than 140 journals and more than 150 books and reference materials, as well as indexing and abstracts for over 600 additional publications. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Women's Studies International
- 1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- The Transgender Archives
- The Transgender Archives' online discovery tool searches the world’s largest collection of Trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse publications. From the University of Victoria.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index
- 1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc. Rutgers-restricted Access