Biotechnology and the Law

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Academic Search Premier

The basic multidisciplinary index with a focus on the arts and humanities. Especially good source for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes PAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, the primary databases for political science and public policy. Rutgers-restricted Access

JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar

Use the Library's link to Google Scholar.

History Databases

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

1975- . Searchable bibliography of articles, books, proceedings, and dissertations. Integrates the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Rutgers-restricted Access

America: History and Life

1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical Abstracts

1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Biological and Biomedical Databases

BIOSIS Previews

The comprehensive index to the literature of life science and biomedical research. Indexes of 5,000 academic journals. Rutgers-restricgted Access

Biological Science Collection (Proquest)

Scholarship on a wide range of topics in biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Rutgers-restricgted Access

Biotechnology Research Abstracts

An index of international research (20th century to the present) on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture, and environmental science. Rutgers-restricgted Access

PubMed

Database of over 30 million citations for biomedical literature. Accessing PubMed from this link enables the "Get It @ R" button.

Religion and Philosophy Databases

ATLA Religion Database

1949- . Index to 650 journals representing all the major religious faiths, as well as some 14,000 multi-authored works, relating to Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

Philosopher's Index

1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc. Rutgers-restricted Access