Introduction to Rutgers University Libraries
Welcome to Rutgers University Libraries!
Welcome to Rutgers University Libraries!
We are committed to providing you with the resources and services you need to succeed at Rutgers.
This Research Guide will provide you with a foundation in using a wide array of electronic library resources and services. There are instructions on searching for books and articles and using other resources. Please use the tabs on the left to get started.
If you need more information, see Ask Us. We welcome your questions and any suggestions you may have regarding library resources and services.
We wish you every success in your research at Rutgers.
Visit and Study at the Libraries
Robeson Library supports the undergraduate and graduate programs of Rutgers University–Camden and delivers library services for students at the Camden campuses of Camden County College and Rowan University.
Robeson Library fosters student success through programs like the Undergraduate Research Award, the Library Student Advisory Board, and the Personal Librarian Program, which helps Rutgers-Camden first-year undergraduates connect with a librarian to learn more about library resources, how to perform research and more.
In addition to delivering academic resources and support, Dana Library maintains unique artifacts of Newark's history and culture. It is home to the Institute of Jazz Studies, the world's foremost jazz archives and research library, and the RU-N Archive, which comprises documents and photographs showcasing the history of the Rutgers Newark campus.
One of Rutgers University's two primary health sciences libraries, Smith Library supports the information needs of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences faculty, students, and staff. It is also home to Special Collections in the History of Medicine, the only repository entirely devoted to providing resources in the history of medicine in New Jersey.
New Brunswick is home to eight Rutgers University Libraries and Rutgers' Special Collections and University Archives.
While each library has its own unique focus and spaces, they all share a core mission of empowering student success, advancing faculty and graduate student research and teaching, and building connections with the community.
Visit and Study in New Brunswick Libraries | See what's available at each of our locations in New Brunswick and Piscataway
Accessing the Libraries from Off-Campus
All resources and services from the libraries are available to you off-campus. When you are off-campus, you will be prompted to login with your netID when you try to access Rutgers-restricted resources, such as databases.
Quick Links to Library Resources
Quick Links to Library Resources
Use the links below to quickly connect with the resources and services you need.
- Rutgers University LibrariesWebsite of the Rutgers University Libraries.
- My library accountRenew checkouts and review status of your account and any requests.
- Indexes and DatabasesAccess more than 600 indexes and databases to search for information.
- Research GuidesFind a library research guide to research in a specific subject area.
- Tutorials in information literacyThis online instruction includes lessons on information literacy and critical thinking.
- Ask a LibrarianWe're here to help, whether you're new to Rutgers, a seasoned researcher, or just looking for a good book to read.