NATIONAL BOARD OF PRISONS AND PRISON LABOR (U.S.)
Report, 1926.
1 v.
Survey report compiled for the National Board by Anna Lalor Burdick on the work girls performed in selected reformatories. Superintendents of the following institutions contributed information: Andrews Institute in Willoughby, Ohio; the Women's Prison and the Indiana Girls School in Indianapolis; the New York Reformatory for Women in Bedford Hills, New York; the Correctional School for Women in Muncy, Pennsylvania; and Clinton Farm Correctional School for Women (now the Edna Mahan Correctional Facility for Women) near Clinton, N.J.
NATIONAL MUSICAL STRING COMPANY.
Records, 1897-1960.
ca. 27 cubic ft.
Manufacturing concern located in New Brunswick, N.J.; employed both women and men.
Letter books, order books, sales books, payroll records, ledgers, trade catalogs, publications and photographs.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN. UNION COUNTY CHAPTER.
Records, 1970-1978 (bulk 1972-1973).
.4 cubic ft. (1 box).
NOW chapter formed in 1970 or slightly before in Union County, N.J.; merged into the County's Westfield Chapter in 1982 (which still later changed its name to the Union County Chapter).
Records created and accumulated by Barbara Matrick as president of the chapter in 1972-1973, together with a few interfiled items from 1974 and 1978. Included are background and administrative files (most of which pertain to the national organization), including local membership lists; correspondence, including membership inquiries and letters exchanged with members of Congress; subject files; newspaper clippings; and announcements and publications from other feminist organizations. Accompanying the records are a transcript and (cassette) audio recording of an interview with Barbara Matrick conducted in 1999.
Topics covered in the subject files include abortion, day care, education (especially information on college courses for adult women), employment (various aspects, including discrimination), the Equal Rights Amendment, sexism in children's toys and women and the news media.
NATIONAL WOMEN'S EDUCATION FUND.
Records, 1972-1987.
72 cubic ft. (72 cartons).
A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization in Washington, D.C., which aimed "to increase the numbers of women and influence of women in public life" by fostering their leadership and political skills and by providing them with information; founded in 1972 as an outgrowth of the National Women's Political Caucus and incorporated the next year; was directed by a multi-partisan, fifteen member board encompassing leadership from women's organizations, the professions and politics; derived its operating funds from private and governmental grants-in-aid, later supplemented by consulting fees and publication sales; carried out its objectives through regional seminars (on campaign techniques, management skills and other topics) that were sometimes cosponsored by other organizations, through publications (among them a Campaign Workbook, curriculum materials for skills workshops and directories of women state legislators), through higher education initiatives (in the form of curriculum development for college courses focusing on campaigning, public policy issues and leadership skills for women, together with the coordination of similar efforts at a network of women's colleges), through data collection and dissemination (including the distribution of information about women candidates to news organizations in election years and the maintenance of an information bank for women state and local policy makers, together with research on topics such as the delegate selection process for national political conventions) and through assistance given to networking groups (including administrative services provided to the Washington Women's Network, a support group for District of Columbia women leaders and executives); was affected by decreases in federal grant funding during the 1980s, as well as by the assumption of some of its training functions by other organizations; experienced a serious budget shortfall in 1984 and consequently discontinued some programs and reduced its office staff; approved a five-year affiliation with the Young Women's Christian Association of the U.S.A. in October 1985, but voted to suspend its operations in April 1986 rather than formally merge with the Y.W.C.A.
Records documenting the administration and programmatic activities of the National Women's Education Fund. Among the more unusual materials included in the records are a sampling of campaign materials, 1972-1984, from various national, state and local women candidates and a collection of résumés, 1980, for women appointees and senior women administrators in the outgoing Carter administration.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NAUGHRIGHT, Anna De Yoe.
Travel journal, 1902 Aug. 9-1903 Apr. 16.
2 v.
Resident of Morris County, N.J.?; entered the New Jersey State Normal School at Trenton (later Trenton State College and now the College of New Jersey) in 1905.
Journal of a trip made with a Mrs. Graves and Graves' children to Ireland, the Isle of Man, Scotland, England, Paris, Monte Carlo, Naples, Rome, etc.
In: Willard L. De Yoe Papers. Finding aid available online.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NEER, Henry Crippen, 1838-1911.
Papers, 1876-1911.
1 cubic ft. (5 v. and 1 envelope).
Physician and pharmacist, of Park Ridge, N.J.
Indexed prescription books, November 17, 1884-February 8, 1911; obstetrical register, June 7, 1876-November 25, 1910; and other papers.
The approximately 25,000 entries in the prescription books each include the name of the patient, the prescription, the date and the prescription number. Entries in the obstetrical register include the names, ages, place of residence and countries of origin of the parents, the date on which labor began and the number and sex of the child(ren) born, as well as the number of children previously born to each patient and the number of her children then alive. Additional notes sometimes appear which describe difficult or unusual births. Although most of the parents listed were from the U.S., many others were European immigrants.
NEILSON FAMILY.
Papers, 1690-1937.
ca. 56 cubic ft.
Residents of New Brunswick, N.J.
Papers of three generations of the Neilson family.
A two volume travel journal, June 27, 1866-October 30, 1867, kept by Catharine (Bleecker) Neilson (1809-1893) describes a voyage to England and an extended stay there and elsewhere in Europe. A wealthy widow, Neilson was accompanied by her son James Neilson (1844-1937).
Travel journals, 1870-1913 (with gaps), of Mary Putnam (Woodbury) Neilson (1846-1914), wife of James Neilson (1844-1937), concern trips to the British Isles and continental Europe, including one trip which she made before her marriage. She also kept a diary, April 17-November 26, 1898, April 29 and May 3, 1901, and February 21-May 23, 1902, which contains entries about the weather, birds, gardening and social life.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NEILSON PAPERS PROJECT.
Records, 1976-1977.
8 items and 3 reels of audiotape.
Research papers, 1977, on historical aspects of the Neilson family of New Brunswick, N.J., and oral history audio recordings, 1976, of interviews with alumnae of Douglass College (presumably from the period when it was known as the New Jersey College for Women), Rutgers University.
NEW BRUNSWICK (N.J.). BOARD OF RECREATION.
Records, 1936-1956 (bulk 1949-1955).
2 v.
Materials gathered by chairperson Adelaide Hoffman Marvin (spouse of Walter Taylor Marvin): minutes, reports and other records of the Board and of New Brunswick's Department of Recreation. Also reports, correspondence and other material of the Committee of Public Recreation of the New Brunswick Woman's Club.
NEW BRUNSWICK (N.J.). CITY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECREATION.
Records, 1922-1951.
.4 cubic ft. (1 box).
Reports, correspondence, notes and other records of the Committee. Also included are reports about public recreation that Adelaide Hoffman Marvin (spouse of Walter Taylor Marvin) prepared for the City Improvement Society and the New Brunswick Woman's Club.
NEW BRUNSWICK ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY (N.J.)
Records, 1892-1909.
1 box and 1 v.
Organized in 1892; included both women and men as members.
Constitution, minutes, reports, receipts and other records.
NEW JERSEY. GOVERNOR'S TASK FORCE ON MIGRANT FARM LABOR.
Records, 1950-1968.
1.33 cubic ft. (4 boxes).
Records preserved by Task Force member Susanna P. Zwemer. Included are minutes, correspondence, reports, pamphlets and clippings containing data on migrant workers and their working conditions, together with information concerning migrant labor legislation and a bibliography on migrant workers compiled by the Consumers League of New Jersey.
NEW JERSEY ASSOCIATION OF EXTENSION HOME ECONOMISTS.
Records, 1959-1970.
.2 cubic ft. (1 box).
Changed its name to the New Jersey Association of Extension Home Economists in December 1964 (following a name change by the national organization) after having previously been known as the Home Agents' Association of New Jersey (also referred to as the New Jersey Home Agents' Association).
Constitution and by-laws, minutes of executive board and general meetings, lists of committees and committee members, committee reports, membership lists and other records.
NEW JERSEY FEDERATION OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL WOMEN.
Records, 1919-1996.
ca. 20 cubic ft.
Founded in 1919 as the New Jersey Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs to extend opportunities to women in professions and business through activities and education, including the provision of scholarships; has espoused various causes over the years, including revision of the N.J. constitution (in the 1940s), the state equal-pay-for-equal-work bill and the federal Equal Rights Amendment; changed its name to the New Jersey Federation of Business and Professional Women in 1985.
Certificate of incorporation and by-laws, minutes, reports, general files, financial records, directories, newsletters and other publications, committee files, convention programs, photographs, press clippings, a scrapbook, memorabilia, club charters and membership records. Among the persons represented in the records (as a past president) is Helen G. Hurd.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NEW JERSEY HOME ECONOMICS ASSOCIATION.
Records, 1925-1986 (bulk 1963-1977).
7 cubic ft. (7 cartons).
Professional organization affiliated with the American Home Economics Association; organized in 1925 or early 1926; incorporated in 1963; serves to improve the quality and standards of individual and family life through education, research, cooperative programs and public information; includes both professional (grouped by type of employer) and subject matter sections for its members, based upon the affiliations that they register with the national organization; also includes geographic districts (corresponding to one or more N.J. counties) consisting of subsets of the membership who meet and sponsor activities independently of the state organization; holds its semiannual meetings at various locations within the state (formerly including one meeting a year held in conjunction with the New Jersey Education Association); has sometimes sponsored or cosponsored additional programs held separately from the organization's spring and fall meetings; for many years, provided scholarship money to N.J. high school graduates intending to enter the field of home economics and planning to study at one of four specified N.J. colleges or universities; presents annual awards in various categories (e.g., "NJHEA [high school] Teacher of the Year"); changed its name to the New Jersey Association of Family and Consumer Sciences in 1994 following a similar name change by the national organization.
Published organizational histories (1963 and 1973), certificate of incorporation, constitutions and by-laws, annual reports, newsletters, membership lists (including leadership rosters), minutes (of the board of trustees and of membership meetings) and general files. The general files pertain, in part, to the American Home Economics Association.
NEW JERSEY LESBIAN AND GAY COALITION.
Records, 1980-1992.
4 cubic ft.
Organized in 1972 as the New Jersey Gay Coalition; changed its name to the New Jersey Lesbian and Gay Coalition in 1983; serves as a "representative forum to unify, encourage, aid and support the efforts of the New Jersey organizations whose purpose is to promote, secure and protect the human dignity, integrity, legal, civil and political rights of all people regardless of their sexual orientation"; created a separate, nonprofit legal defense and education fund, the Personal Liberty Fund of the Lesbian and Gay Coalition of New Jersey, Inc., in 1984; formed a committee (the A634 Task Force) in 1991 which lobbied for a state law (passed in 1992) to make it illegal "to discriminate on the basis of affectional or sexual orientation in the areas of employment, public accommodation, housing and credit."
Correspondence files, 1980-1984; general files, 1982-1987, chiefly concerning fundraising, governance and lobbying, but also including press clippings; newsletter production files, 1985-1987; files, 1984-1985, pertaining to an AIDS education project conducted in northern N.J. by the Personal Liberty Fund; and A634 Task Force files, 1991-1992.
A634 Task Force records include agendas and minutes of Task Force meetings, correspondence, copies of relevant bills (A634 and S3758), copies of a 1991 N.J. executive order banning discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation by state bodies and departments, guidelines for writing or calling legislators, legislative biographies and rosters, a briefing book prepared for members of the state legislature, testimony given before legislative committees, press kits, press releases, handouts, flyers, press clippings and other documents.
NEW JERSEY NUTRITION COUNCIL.
Records, 1940-1997.
ca. 2.66 cubic ft.
Founded in 1940; addressed a variety of issues over the years, such as the preparation of healthy meals during the food rationing of World War II, the nutritional needs of older adults, the coloring of oleomargarine, the enrichment of grains, the nutritional value of school lunches, the eating habits of teenagers, the potential effect of radiation fallout on food, menu planning for fallout shelters, imitation milk, cyclamates as sweeteners, the nutritional labeling of dietary foods, hunger in the U.S. and the Head Start program, nutritional education in the public schools, the nutritional aspects of teenage pregnancy and the promotion of heart-healthy foods; also (especially in later years) disseminated information to the news media and sponsored educational seminars on various topics (including wellness for women); established a formal dues structure in 1972 and began issuing a newsletter the same year; incorporated in 1980.
Constitutions and by-laws, 1950-1987; procedure manuals, 1983-1989; annual reports, 1981-1991; minutes and agendas, 1980-1997, of executive committee meetings (including supporting documentation); minutes, 1980-1997, of annual meetings; newsletters, 1981-1997 (most entitled "Fact Sheet"); membership lists, 1981-1996; general files, 1940-1997; and photographs (including a photograph album).
NEW JERSEY WOMAN SUFFRAGE ASSOCIATION.
Records, 1911-1938 (bulk 1911-1919).
.2 cubic ft. (1 box).
Suffrage association originally founded in 1867 by Lucy Stone; became less active after Stone moved to Massachusetts; was revived in 1890 (at least partly as a response to the merger of the two national suffrage associations that year) and began to hold annual conventions; working through its Committee on Laws Related to Women, successfully lobbied for the right of women to enter the legal profession in N.J.; became less active after the failure of an 1897 effort to gain women the right to vote in local school board elections; began a period of renewed activity in 1908; with other N.J. suffrage groups, promoted the idea of a state suffrage referendum which finally passed the legislature in early 1915, only to be voted down that fall by the (all male) electorate; during World War I, purchased and operated a Soldiers' Club Home in Wrightstown, N.J. (near Camp Dix) from 1917 to 1919; worked to defeat anti-suffrage candidates in the state elections of 1918; through the New Jersey Suffrage Ratification Committee (which included representatives of various women's groups), lobbied successfully for N.J.'s ratification of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which the state legislature approved in February 1920; held a victory convention in April 1920 at which it formally dissolved itself (and at which the New Jersey League of Women Voters was founded).
Constitution and by-laws, 1915; correspondence, 1913-1918; reports, 1911-1916; press releases, 1914-1919; broadsides, 1914-1918; publications, 1914-1918; and newspaper clippings, 1917-1919 and 1938.
Additional New Jersey Woman Suffrage Association records are available at the New Jersey Historical Society.
NEW JERSEY WOMEN LIBRARY WORKERS.
Records, 1976-1980 (bulk 1976-1978).
ca. .2 cubic ft.
Organized in 1976 to be "a communication network and a woman-affirming forum for all library/information workers – clerks, technicians, librarians, assistants – interested in ending discrimination against women in the library world"; consisted of a core of active participants within a larger group of paid members, including 24 total members in December 1976, 67 members in July 1977 and 55 members in June 1978; met largely at the homes of active members; sponsored workshops on assertiveness training and a seminar on management training, as well as less formal presentations at its regular meetings on topics such as public relations and budgeting; participated in conferences of New Jersey NOW (once) and of the New Jersey Library Association (more than once); cosponsored a day-long "Women in Film" workshop at Rutgers University; sent a letter to members of the search committee for a new state librarian which emphasized the importance of affirmative action in seeking women candidates for the job; expressed support for the New Jersey Coalition for the ERA; donated the money remaining in its checking account in 1980 to the national Women Library Workers' chapter fund.
Minutes, 1976-1978; N.J. SHARE (Sisters HAve Resources Everywhere) directories, 1977-1978; and general files pertaining to topics such as projects, programs, pay equity, Women Library Workers (the national organization) and the Equal Rights Amendment.
NEW JERSEY WOMEN'S EQUITY ACTION LEAGUE.
Records, 1970-1974 (bulk 1971-1974).
1.33 cubic ft. (4 boxes).
Founded in September 1971 as a division of the Women's Equity Action League (a feminist organization whose members were directly involved in research, monitoring, advocacy and litigation in order to end discrimination against women); worked in N.J. to end sex-segregated classified advertisements (which were in violation of the Civil Rights Act of 1964), to increase the number of women students in veterinary schools, to monitor the records of pharmaceutical companies in employing women (as well as their depiction of women in medical journal advertising), to fight credit policies which discriminated against women, to study the number of women employed as bank directors (and to promote affirmative action plans in banks holding government money), to bring about compliance with Title IX (which bans sex discrimination in educational institutions receiving federal funds), to challenge state and local government agencies which it felt failed to hire sufficient numbers of women and to help place women seeking college teaching and administrative positions; disbanded in 1981 (together with other state divisions) when the national WEAL merged with the WEAL Educational and Legal Defense Fund.
Alphabetical files relating to New Jersey WEAL activities that were created by Jane F. Robens as vice-president (1971-1973) and president (1974) of the New Jersey Women's Equity Action League, together with scattered records passed on to her by Phyllis Zatlin Boring, the previous state president, and Robens' files (from 1974) as national WEAL membership secretary. The files chiefly consist of correspondence and press clippings; other document types present include press releases, WEAL reports, conference programs, copies of government documents and WEAL newsletters (state and national).
NEW YORK FEMINIST ART INSTITUTE.
Records, 1970-1990 (bulk 1980-1990).
ca. 27 cubic ft.
Alternative art school founded in New York City in 1979 by a group of women artists, educators and administrators who became its first board of directors; initially occupied space in Manhattan on West Spring Street (made possible in large part through foundation and corporate grants); offered classes in basic drawing, painting and sculpture, as well as courses in feminist theory and the history of art and anthropology from a feminist perspective; established a non-hierarchical structure to its classes (mutual evaluations of progress by the student and teacher replaced grades and continuing in the program depended only on a student's motivation) and a non-traditional curriculum (with the first year emphasizing group sessions in which students focused on developing a better understanding of themselves and their status as women, in part by creating visual diaries, before embarking on the study of artistic technique); also offered weekend workshops to attract part-time students and sponsored an apprenticeship program to enable students to work with established women artists; having adopted an additional name (New York Feminist Art Institute/Women's Center for Learning), expanded its course offerings in the early 1980s to include other arts (such as print and papermaking, basketry and puppetry), as well as psychology and writing, all with an emphasis on personal experience; moved its headquarters to New York City's Tribeca section in 1984 to a building on Franklin Street that also included space for a gallery (Ceres Gallery which exhibited works exclusively by women artists) plus individual studios and a storage area (all made available to women artists at low cost); after the move, placed less emphasis on classes and more on workshops and community involvement; in addition to annual shows in the Ceres Gallery of artists associated with the school, sponsored themed art exhibits at irregular intervals (e.g., "Transformations," focusing on the recent work of women artists, in 1981 and a tenth anniversary exhibit "Beyond Survival: Old Frontiers: New Visions," featuring works by minority artists, in 1989); for financial reasons, offered a reduced schedule of classes in 1990 and then closed.
Minutes of board meetings, administrative files (containing correspondence, grant proposals, contracts, class schedules, registration lists, publicity materials, budgets and other financial records, mailing lists, etc.), press releases, exhibit files, illustrated visual diaries created by students, audio cassettes and photographs.
Container list available.
Advance notice required to consult this collection.
NEW YORK YEARLY MEETING OF THE RELIGIOUS SOCIETY OF FRIENDS (Orthodox : 1828-1955)
Records, 1728-1886.
5 microfilm reels.
Religious body that was known as the New York Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends through 1827.
Records: Minutes, 1728-1753, of the Quarterly Meeting of Women Friends Held at Flushing and Westbury; minutes, 1728-1771, of the Flushing Monthly Meeting of Women Friends; minutes, 1756-1780, 1828-1852 (Orthodox) and 1834-1870 (Hicksite), of the New York Yearly Meeting of Women Friends; minutes, 1746-1872, of yearly men's meetings, including Orthodox records through 1847 and Hicksite records through 1872; and minutes, 1758-1886, of the Yearly Meeting's Representative Committee (earlier the Meeting for Sufferings), including Orthodox records through 1870 and Hicksite records through 1886.
NEWARK LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS.
Records, 1908-1930 (bulk 1913-1923).
.33 cubic ft. (1 box).
Organized in Newark, N.J., in 1908 as an affiliate of the New York-based Equality League of Self-Supporting Women; subsequently (in 1913 or before) adopted the name Women's Political Union of New Jersey; evidently became the Newark Branch of the Women's Political Union of New Jersey in 1915 when the several independent branches apparently effected a "plan of union" (creating a state executive board made up of branch presidents) under the name Women's Political Union of New Jersey; chose to remain independent (as the Women's Political Union of Newark) when other branches of the Women's Political Union of New Jersey merged into the New Jersey Woman Suffrage Association in 1916; supported the war effort during World War I by helping to sell Liberty bonds, by making contributions to relief agencies and by making socks, sweaters and "comfort kits" to distribute to soldiers (including men at Camp Dix, N.J., who visited the soldiers' club run by the New Jersey Woman Suffrage Association); dissolved on May 4, 1920, at which time its former members founded the Newark League of Women Voters; within the next three years, cosponsored a citizenship school for the education of women voters and began identifying legislation to support (or oppose), including endorsing a bill permitting the city manager form of government in N.J. and a "No Night Work" bill (protective legislation for women), both of which passed in 1923.
Minutes, 1920-1923, including inserted supporting documentation; candidate questionnaires, 1920, 1923 and undated; a draft constitution, 1928; and miscellaneous other records, 1919-1922, 1930 and undated, consisting primarily of correspondence and publications. Also records of its predecessor organization, the Women's Political Union of Newark, consisting of correspondence, 1908 and 1913-1918 (including many letters of thanks received from soldiers); minutes, 1916, of an umbrella organization known as the Essex County Women's Political Union of New Jersey; and miscellaneous other records, 1916.
Among the persons represented in the records are Jane Addams (primarily correspondence from and about her which concerns speaking engagements), Florence Haines (various documents which involve her as an official of the organization) and Anna Howard Shaw (correspondence which chiefly relates to speaking engagements in N.J.).
NEWBOLD, Michael E. (Michael Earl), 1824-1887.
Daybook, 1848 Apr. 1-1889 Mar. 25.
1 v.
Resident of Springfield Township, Burlington County, N.J.; operated a sawmill and possibly a gristmill; collected prehistoric stone implements.
Daybook recording financial transactions, most with women and men employed by Newbold, including memoranda concerning their terms of service, records of payments made to others on their behalf and records of absences charged against their salaries. Entries from May 6, 1887, to March 25, 1889, relate to Newbold's estate.
NEWELL, Julia Florance, b. 1898.
Travel journal, 1916 July 24-Aug. 4.
1 v. (71 pages).
Daughter of William E. Florance, a New Brunswick, N.J., attorney, public official and bank director; married Duncan H. Newell.
Record of a trip made with her parents and others in a Cadillac from New Brunswick to New Hampshire and back.
NORTON, Mary Teresa, 1875-1959.
Papers, 1920-1960.
ca. 5 cubic ft. (9 boxes and 10 v.).
U.S. Congresswoman, of Jersey City, N.J.; born Mary Teresa Hopkins; married Robert Francis Norton (d. 1934) in 1909; participated actively in local, county and state Democratic Party politics with the backing of Jersey City Mayor Frank Hague; was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1924 (the first woman elected from an Eastern state) and served thirteen terms, 1925-1951; while in Congress, served for ten years as chairperson of the House Labor Committee, 1937-1947; also participated in Democratic Party politics at the national level (including as a delegate to party conventions and as a national committeewoman from N.J.); served as "Womanpower Consultant" to the U.S. Secretary of Labor in the early 1950s.
Correspondence, speeches and statements, writings (including drafts of her unpublished memoir "Madame Congressman"), subject files, biographical data, tributes, photographs and press clippings. Among the correspondents represented is Eleanor Roosevelt (52 letters and 1 invitation : 1940-1959). Included among the topics treated in the subject files are the U.S. Department of Labor's Women's Advisory Committee on Defense Manpower (material from 1951 to 1953 concerning workforce issues and the employment of women) and a 1952 "National Equal Pay Conference" sponsored by the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor.
Publication: Rees, Maureen, "Mary Norton: 'A Grand Girl,'" Journal of the Rutgers University Libraries, XLVII (1985): 59-75.
OLDEN, Marian S. (Marian Stephenson), b. 1888.
Papers, 1934-1970.
.66 cubic ft. (2 boxes).
Proponent of compulsory sterilization for the unfit; born in Philadelphia in 1888; chaired the Social Hygiene Committee of the Princeton chapter of the League of Women Voters beginning in 1933 or 1934 (in which capacity she began her activism on behalf of eugenic sterilization); helped to found the Sterilization League of New Jersey in 1937 and served as its executive secretary until 1942; helped to found Birthright, Inc., a national organization advocating compulsory sterilization, in 1943 and served as its executive secretary until 1948; died in Gwynedd, Pennsylvania, in 1981. Olden conducted her professional activities under the name Marion S. Norton (sometimes Coleman-Norton) until about 1941 when, after marrying her fourth husband, she styled herself as Marian (sometimes Mariann) S. Olden. Her surname at birth was Stephenson.
Pamphlets (written by Olden), reports, surveys, articles, scrapbooks and clippings. The papers pertain to genetics, birth control and sterilization.
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.