English 101/104: College Writing/College Writing Extended

The resources on this page will help you get started in exploring and identifying topics for Project 4. For more resources, see tab for Further Resources (Topic Exploration) at the end of this guide.

Access World News:

• Covers newspapers and news wires across the world.
• Search by Subject for "Suggested Topics" or "Hot Topics".

CQ Researcher:

• Full-text, weekly topical, authoritative, fact-checked reports focusing on newsworthy topics.
• Browse by Topics, Hot Topics, Pro/Con Issues, and new, upcoming topics of broad interest in the public policy sphere.

JSTOR Daily:

• JSTOR Daily is a daily magazine that contextualizes current events with scholarship found on JSTOR.
• Click the 3 line icon at the top left for an index of topics by subject.

Access World News: America's News Magazines:

• America's News Magazines (NewsBank) provides full-text articles from leading magazines that provide coverage and analysis of current events in a range of categories including: news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. 

Ethnic News Watch: 

• A collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic, minority and native presses. These titles offer a wide range of viewpoints not offered in the mainstream press.

New York Times:

• NYTimes.com provides full access to all New York Times digital content, including news, multimedia, reviews, opinions, blogs, videos, podcasts and newsletters. Rutgers University Libraries' subscription to The New York Times allows all Rutgers affiliates to create free NYTimes.com personal accounts, which provide full access to NYTimes.com, The New York Times app, and the NYT Audio app.

National Public Radio (NPR): 

• National Public Radio provides readers and listeners with up-to-date, well researched information about important news. Be sure to click on NEWS in the upper left to explore this site.

BBC:

• The BBC publishes news from around the world and includes both pop-culture and more serious topics. Use the navigation bar along the top of the page to explore more.

The Conversation:

• The Conversation US is a source of independent news and views served to readers with academic rigor and a journalistic flair. Use the navigation bar at the top to explore topics.