Skip to Main Content

Joan of Arc

This guide was created to support Dr. Susan Mokhberi's History class, but may be of interest to other researchers and student as well.

General Search Notes

The main starting point for research at Rutgers University Libraries is www.libraries.rutgers.edu

The search box on that page will search all of our cataloged books, and the contents of many, perhaps most, but not all of our databases.

When searching for Joan of Arc it is best to put the words in quotation marks to search it as a phrase -- "Joan of Arc"

You can use the left hand tool bar to limit by type of resource or by general subject. You can also use the advanced search option to search solely by subject or by author.

Remember that Joan is the English version of her name. You might also want to search for "Jeanne d'Arc" or "Maid of Orleans" or Pucelle.

If the title of a work is in another language (say, French), the book or article is most likely in that language as well.

Subject Specific Resources

There are a number of subject specific databases accessible through the Rutgers University Libraries that can aid you in your research. Many of them are included in the search box (QuickSearch) on the main libraries page but you can also access them individually at this page: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes 

Historical Abstracts 

Religion Index 

Art Index 

Artbibliographies Modern 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 

International Medieval Bibliography 

MLA International Bibliography (literature)

Biographical Archive of the Middle Ages

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies

 

Finding Images of Joan of Arc 

Amica 

Artstor 

 

Finding Articles on Artistic Representation of Joan of Arc 

Art Index Retrospective 

Artbibliographies Modern 

Bibliography of the History of Art 

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals 

 

Other Databases of Interest: 

Oxford Art Online 

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (use the Iter bibliography) 

Index of Medieval Art 

More resources on the general Art and Art History Libguide: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/subjects/indexes_arts_hum#Art_and_Art_History 

 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.