Research Guides: Research in Public Administration 410: Finding Scholarly Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier: A basic multidisciplinary database, ASP indexes both news magazines (Time back to 1929, Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report) and scholarly journals. Especially strong for arts and humanities titles; also good resource for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection: Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

JSTOR: JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: 1975- Index to over 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields. [Included in Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection above]. Rutgers-restricted Access

Public Affairs Information Service: 1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues. [Included in Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection above]. Rutgers-restricted Access

Business Source Premier: The most comprehensive database to business and related areas, including public administration. Rutgers-restricted access

Homeland Security Digital Library: A collection of research materials on homeland security, policy, and organizational management, including emergency management, election security, cyber infrastructure security, and police reform. Rutgers-restricted Access

Criminal Justice Abstracts: Index to almost 500 journals relating to criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present. Prior to 2011, included books as well as government and non-governmental reports.Rutgers-restricted Access

NCJRS: Virtual Library Search: National Criminal Justice Reference Service index to federal, state, local, and think tank reports, as well as journal articles.

EconLit: Comprehensive bibliographic index for economic literature. Indexes journal, books, dissertations, working papers, and volumes of articles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

IDEAS: The largest free Economics bibliographic database. Links to over 3,800,000 items.

ProQuest Education Journals: Index to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education, along with trade journals and magazines. Approximately 600 titles are available full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center: The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 1966+ Rutgers-restricted Access

HeinOnline: Index to the full-text of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals as well as related legal materials. Most journals indexed back to their first volume. Rutgers-restricted Access

Westlaw Campus Research: Includes law review articles, Shepard's citations of U.S. Supreme Court cases, and federal and state cases and laws. Rutgers-restricted Access

PsycINFO (Including PsycARTICLES): Comprehensive index to the the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Covers some 2000 journals, as well as book chapters and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access