Gender and Technology Research Guide ITI 340

Videos produced from 1894-2015 including newsreels.

It provides access to America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory for information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

A collection of digitized primary sources that illuminate the daily lives of women in the United States in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Conduct of life manuals and domestic management literature are major highlights of the collection.

A collection of digitized primary sources depicting gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Material types include records from women’s and men’s organizations, advice literature, etiquette books, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, pamphlets, photographs, biographies, and interviews.

Full text access to the personal writings of North American women from all classes and walks of life, from colonial times to 1950. All age groups, all life stages, many ethnicities, and many geographical regions are represented. Some writings are by prominent women, while others provide insight into the everyday lives of ordinary women.

Provides indexing to oral histories of English-speaking men and women from all walks of life.

Available from 1845-1908 and 2006 -

An industry-sponsored repository of recent advertisements from around the world.

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

A selection of images related to computer scientist Grace Hopper (1906-1992) and other female computer programming pioneers from the Hagley Digital Archives chosen by their staff.

Google software engineer, James Damore, wrote a manifesto titled, “Google’s Ideological Echo Chamber." The 10-page document, which went viral within the company and attracted intense media attention.

This page includes a primary document and a discussion surrounding it. The document is a memorandum dated April 27, 1942 that outlines the computing facility at the Langley Memorial Aeronautical Laboratory (LMAL), the main research facility of the NACA and where Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, and Mary Jackson worked. The page includes photographs, the 1942 Memorandum, and links to other articles that reference primary sources.

This link is a sample search result using the keyword "women." The website is filled with digital and multimedia historical collections on the topic of women and STEM including primary source materials.

Explore images, a timeline, and links to various personal accounts

This page includes images and links to archives and other sources of materials

The Computer History Archives Project, an independent educational research activity dedicated to the Research and Preservation of Vintage Computing Technologies.

The Centre for Computing History has a vast number of computing items archived which are constantly being catalogued on the website.

Get a curated tour of CHM’s extensive media holdings. Hear early lectures, talks, and interviews given by computing pioneers. See this result list: https://computerhistory.org/?s=women

Note who is named and who is absent from the official narratives (see
http://eniacprogrammers.org/ for example)

The Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) provides integrated access to descriptions and detailed inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian.

The complete digitized set of The Woman Engineer 1919 – 2014. “The journal is an important tool for research as it contains a wealth of information regarding not only women in engineering but also a wide variety of information for social history, gender studies and innovation in the UK since 1919. The early journals also contain technical papers by female engineers…” The site also has links to other primary source collections.

CBI holds one of the world's largest collections of research-grade oral history interviews relating to the history of computers, software, and networking. The Collection contains over 550 oral history interviews in both print (only available onsite at CBI) and digital.

A collection of videos documenting women's first-person accounts.

Kathleen McNulty Mauchly Antonelli talks about her time in the 1940's learning about the ENIAC and John Mauchly. She was one of a group of 6 women who were recruited to program the first electronic computer.

This results page includes links to 28 interviews conducted with an MIT alumna as part of the Margaret MacVicar Memorial AMITA (Association of MIT Alumnae) Oral History Project. The purpose of the project is to document the life histories of women graduates of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Some of the videos are conversations with important leaders in technology providing accounts of their experiences.

This page includes the names of people in the collection and a link to the collection page. If you identify a person on the list, you need to click the link and find them in the alphabetized list.

Search for examples of "gendered" technologies.

Patent documents (text & illustration.) Invented by Marjorie Scott Joyner, a Black woman who worked for Madam CJ Walker.

A set of letters to and from John Frazer, the then dean of the Towne Scientific School at the University of Pennsylvania. In early November 1917, Frazer had written to the deans or presidents of all of major engineering or technical colleges in the United States, asking them about their policies on admitting women to their programs…Be sure to read the final two letters, which bring the episode through to its sad conclusion in 1921.

The pdf is not a primary document, but it may be helpful to identify names or events (clues) for further research.

Anita Sarkeesian became the target of a misogynist backlash after advocating for more diversity in video games. A 2014 Rolling Stone article by Sean T. Collins.

The ENIAC Programmers Project researching the work, recording the stories, and seeking honors for the ENIAC Six—the great women of ENIAC.There is a link to the 20-minute documentary, The Computers, on this page