Cambridge Structural Database is a repository of highly curated small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures, which may be viewed in 3-D. It contains over 1 million entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, and approximately 50,000 structures are added per year. These new structures are deposited by researchers from around the world. Deposited structures are validated and enhanced with bibliographic, chemical, and physical property information.
You may register for a SciFinder-n account from off campus while logged into Rutgers or while using a Rutgers VPN. Go to https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/databases/cas-scifinder-n and click where it says create an account by registering for SciFinder-n. You must use your Rutgers email address and receive a confirmation email before using SciFinder-n for the first time. If you don't receive a confirmation email within 15 minutes of registering, please check your junk folder. If you have trouble registering for a SciFinder-n account, please call the CAS helpdesk at 1-800-753-4227 from 8:00 am until 6:00 pm.
On demand training for SciFinder-n is available at https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n.
PubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information. It is managed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. PubChem records are contributed by hundreds of data sources, including government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and more. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but it also includes larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It also includes drug information.
PubChem allows you to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. You can use it to study chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. Connect to PubChem.
Reaxys is a database which provides information on millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties for organic, organometallic, inorganic, and medicinal chemistry. Data is integrated from many sources including Bellstein, Gmelin, the Chemical Patent Database, PubChem, and Sigmma-Aldrich and also includes bibliographic and patent information. It is a great resource for researchers who are investigating organic synthesis, and/or searching for data on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds. Many helpful features are available including the synthesis planner which can identify the best routes for synthesis or find multiple synthesis options.
Search by: CAS number, chemical name, molecular formula, and property value
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.
ScienceDirect - access is restricted to the Rutgers community.
Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors. Coverage dates: 1900-present
Chemistry & other science magazines available online via Rutgers University Libraries:
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.