Accessing the Article
We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. If you find an article you want to read and the full text is not available via PDF or HTML links, try the following:
1. Select the 
button. Select the link to full-text.
2. If you do not see a link to full text, select “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the catalog record for the journal title (if available). Check if the article is available online in the Electronic Access section.The record also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.
3. If Rutgers University Libraries has the article, but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button in the record.
4. If RUL does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days.
Suggested Databases
The following databases and search engines are recommended for your research topics. Start searching in 1 or 2 of the multi-disciplinary databases and then try a subject-specific database. If you have not searched in a database before or are not finding the articles you need, please contact your librarian.
You can also:
- View all databases for Childhood Studies.
- Search your topic in the Oxford Bibliography for Childhood Studies to gather main ideas, keywords, and foundational works.
Multi-Disciplinary
- QuickSearch: The library search bar which searches books, articles, and more. Use the left-sidebar to narrow to Peer-Reviewed Journals to see only academic articles.
- Google Scholar: This link allows you to search Google Scholar and see a "Get it @ R" link next to every resource available from Rutgers University Libraries.
- JSTOR: Rutgers-restricted database covering humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Project Muse: Rutgers-restricted database covering the humanities and social sciences.
- Web of Science: Rutgers-restricted database covering social sciences (and more).
Criminal Justice, Psychology, and Sociology
- Criminal Justice Abstracts: Rutgers-restricted database covering criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines.
- ProQuest Sociology: Rutgers-restricted database covering topics related to sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection: Rutgers-restricted database covering criminal justice, economics, education, social work, sociology, and more.
- PsycInfo: Rutgers-restricted database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Education
- ERIC: Rutgers-restricted database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in education.
- ProQuest Education: Rutgers-restricted database providing magazines and journals in education.
History
- America: History & Life: Rutgers-restricted database of scholarship on United States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present.
Literature, Language, and Communication
- MLA International Bibliography: Rutgers-restricted database of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and film.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete: Rutgers-restricted database in the fields of communication and mass media dating from 1900 to the present.
Searching the Databases: Tutorials
