Latina/o/x Literature and Culture
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Ethnic NewsWatch
- Ethnic NewsWatch Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Oral HIstories plus
- Bracero History Archive
- Oral Histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative, 1942-1964.
- The Documented Border
- "An interdisciplinary effort whose goal is to advance understanding and awareness about the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and its peoples." Includes oral histories of journalists from both sides of the border who cover northern Mexico, and human rights activists and academics who are working to improve freedom of expression in Mexico.
- Hispanic Communities Documentation Project
- "Over fifty interviews were conducted to document the experiences of Brooklyn residents who arrived from Puerto Rico, Panama, Ecuador, and several other Central and South American nations in the latter half of the twentieth century. This collection includes recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted between 1988 and 1989."
- Chicana and Chicano Studies: Oral History
- UCLA collection of the post-World War II Chicana and Chicano experience.
- UCLA Library Center for Oral History Research Includes interviews pertaining to Central Americans in Southern California; the Chicano Movement; and Latina and Latino History.
- Latino New Jersey History Project
- "The project aims to document the histories of New Jersey’s diverse Latino/a communities by identifying archival materials and conducting oral histories with local residents."
- Latino Oral History Collection
- Collection compiled by the New Jersey Hispanic Resource and Information Center (NJHRIC) at the Newark Public Library. 21 digitized interviews.
- Latino Oral History: Justice
- Ten oral history excerpts focused on the theme of justice, as expressed through the life experiences from prominent Latinos who have focused their efforts in the state of New Jersey, many of them in Newark.
- Luis J. Botifoll Oral History Project
- "Videos, outlines, and selected transcripts of oral history interviews conducted principally with members of the first generations of Cubans to leave the island after the Cuban Revolution."
- Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience
- "The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982." From the Center for Mexican American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin.