Basic Reporting and News Writing: Focus on Newark
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- The basic multidisciplinary index with a focus on the arts and humanities. Especially good source for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
- Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes PAIS International and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, the primary databases for political science and public policy. Rutgers-restricted Access
- JSTOR
- JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access
Can't resist the urge to Google?
- Google Scholar
- When off-campus, use the Library's link to Google Scholar to make it easier to link to Rutgers-restricted resources.
U.S. History
- America: History and Life
- 1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
New Jersey Studies
- New Jersey Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal
- 2015-
- Peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on all aspects of New Jersey history.
New Jersey History
New Jersey History
From 1845 to 1913, the premier journal for articles relating to the history of New Jersey is New Jersey History, formerly (1845-1966) published as the Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society.
The 1845 to 2000 volumes of this journal are indexed in Periodicals Index Online. Restricted Access
Volumes 124 (2009) to 127 (2013) of New Jersey History are available only online.
New Jersey History back to 1845 is available in print in Dana.