DOI
Finding Background Information
Background information provides basic information about a disease, condition, symptom, or disease process. You will find background information in textbooks, evidence summaries from point of care tools, and review articles.
- AccessMedicineAccessMedicine includes key medical reference texts, medical news, quick reference tools and diagnostic tests, infographics, drug information (including dosages, trade names, and pricing), multimedia presentations and video, cases with practice questions, study tools, and patient education information.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey includes clinical overviews, clinical trials, drug monographs, clinical guidelines, patient education handouts, images & multimedia, procedure videos, clinical calculators, and indexing and abstracts from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database.
- DynaMedDynaMed contains more than 3,200 clinical topics, clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, calculators, and drug information and interaction. Search or browse by Specialties.
- UpToDateUpToDate contains over 10,000 clinical topics, the newest updates, Practice Changing Updates, Drug Information, and Patient Education information (in English and Spanish), calculators and a drug interactions analysis tool. Search the entire resource or view Topics by Specialty,
Finding Research Articles
Other than library Quicksearch (useful for interdisciplinary topics as it searches most of electronic collections), you can search directly our biomedical databases. For the full list of databases, check library website Health Sciences Databases.
Here is a list of key biomedical literature databases provided by Rutgers University Libraries.
- APA PsycINFOScholarly literature (journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations) in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- CINAHL with Full TextPremier database for nursing and allied health literature; use to discover similar and interdisciplinary concerns
- Cochrane LibraryThe primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), contains systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements.
- EmbaseEmbase is a global biomedical literature database including articles, conference abstracts, in press articles and all of MEDLINE. Embase provides access to 8,100+ currently published journals from 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles and additional 2900 journals unique to Embase.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, abstracts, and technical reports. Useful for interdisciplinary topics.
- MEDLINE (OVID)Premier online database for biomedical literature from many health science profession specialties
- PubMedFree access worldwide to biomedical citations. The major content is from MEDLINE. Also include articles from PMC and books from NCBI bookshelf. Easy search interface and great search features.
- ScopusScopus contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It can be used to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science includes authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide and conference proceedings.