Research Guides: Justice, Law and Policy: Data

Need Help Finding and Using Data?

Jonathan Torres jonathan.torres.@rutgers.edu is the Data Librarian. See his guide to Dana Library's Data Support

Statista: Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be downloaded in Excel, PDF, PNG, or PowerPoint formats or embedded in web pages. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States: The basic databook for U.S. national-level statistics.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets: Access to data from more than 70 organizational sources. Most data series focus on recent years and a few prior decades, although some data series extend back to the 19th century. Rutgers-restricted Access

Bureau of Justice Statistics: The primary source for U.S. criminal justice data.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD): "National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 3,100 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN). Part of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan."

Bureau of Justice Statistics Arrest Data Analysis Tool: Tool allows you to generate tables and figures of arrest data from 1980 onward. You can view national arrest estimates, customized either by age and sex or by age group and race, for many offenses. This tool also enables you to view data on local arrests.

2021 Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
: Annual report from the U.S. Sentencing Commission. This Sourcebook contains descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data. Previous Sourcebooks (1996-2000) also available.

Federal Crime Case Processing Statistics: "Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts, and incarceration for the years between 1998 and 2020. Users can also look up data based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code for the years between 1994 and 2020. This data tool includes offenders held for violating federal laws."

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Statistical Briefing Book: Data on juvenile crime and victimization and youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

Recidivism and Reentry: Data and reports from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.

States of Incarceration: The Global Context 2021: Graph showing the incarceration rates of every U.S. state alongside those of the other nations of the world. From the Prison Policy Iniative.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research): The largest repository of social science data in the world. Contains over 15,000 studies with accompanying data files, most of which are already prepared for use with statistical software such as SPSS and SAS. As Rutgers is an ICPSR member institution, Rutgers users are able to download ICPSR datasets. (You will first need to create an ICPSR personal account.)