Research in the Disciplines–Research Skills Flipped Lesson (ENG 01:355:201:J3)
Select a Topic
Ask Yourself:
Is this a topic I have always wanted to know more about?
Does this topic meet the requirements of my project?
Tips
Select a topic you find interesting. If you find a topic compelling, the research and writing process may be more satisfying for you.
If you pick a problem that is too general, you won't be able to adequately cover it in a few pages. If you select a problem that is too narrow, you may have trouble finding helpful sources.
More Sources for Topic Ideas
More Resources for Topic Ideas
Social Trends
Politics
New York Times political coverage
Create your free NYT subscription account by clicking the link in the library website: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/nyt-digital
Science Developments
Technology Developments
International News
Interesting and Unusual Research Ideas
Local Issues
Contact a Librarian
Step #1 The Research Process
- Scan the page.
- Watch the video, “The Experience of the Research Process” answering the questions in the video.
- Prepare your answer for Discussion Question #1 which you will post in Canvas at the end of this lesson.
The research process seems linear, yet research is often an iterative (repeating) process. Decisions made early in the research process are often revisited in the light of new insights or practical problems encountered along the way.
Discussion Question #1
Share something new or interesting you learned about your topic from a background resource. Include the name of the resource.
Background Information Serves Many Purposes
- If you are unfamiliar with the topic, it provides a good overview of the subject matter.
- It helps you to identify important facts related to your topic such as terminology, dates, events, history, and relevant names or organizations.
- It can help you refine your topic.
- Background research might lead you to bibliographies that you can use to find additional sources of information.
Acquire Basic Knowledge and Consider:
What terms do you need to know to better understand this issue?
Who is affected by issue?
What are the main controversies associated with the issue?
Who are the key figures and organizations surrounding this issue?
What significant events have occurred related to this issue?
The following resources are useful to identify topics, overviews, background information, concepts, theories, ideas, and key references:
- Access World NewsCovers newspapers and news wires across the world.
- CQ ResearcherFocuses on topics considered newsworthy or issues of broad interest to the general public.
- FactivaCovers newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; and television and radio transcripts focusing on business.
- Gale eBooksIncludes topical overviews; essays; book chapters; primary documents; specialized encyclopedia articles; and other sources.
- Sage ReferenceA large collection of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in a broad range of fields including multidisciplinary areas such as anthropology, environment, health, and psychology.
- Subject EncyclopediasAccess one of many subject encyclopedias available through Rutgers University Libraries.