Executive Master of Public Administration (EMPA)
Getting to the Article
We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the 
button.
- Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will be brought directly to the article.
- If the article is not available, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button that will show in Library Catalog record (after signing in with NETID or requesting a copy through Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery. Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days (longer currently due COVID).
Searching Tips
Searching Tips:
Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search (use the filters, usually on the left)
Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching.
Pay attention to what is available in the database you are searching (full text?, years available, etc.)
Let the database help you!
If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.
Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology.
Current Events and News
- FactivaIncludes access to the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, the Washington Post and other major global newspapers.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus is a collection of current news sources from around the world.
- Current Events, Consumer Info & Popular CultureLinks to various types of consumer information, current event, and popular culture sites
- Access World NewsIndex to newspapers around the world. Full text available.
Philadelphia Inquirer, The Star Ledger, Local NJ and PA area newspapers. - Westlaw Campus ResearchNew York Times. Washington Post.
- CQ Researcher1991 to present. Full text on current topics.
- Ethnic NewsWatch1960 to present, full text of minority, native and ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals.
Finding Articles
To find articles, you can use the following access points:
- QuickSearch (QuickSearch Help): Use one search bar to find journals, articles, books, periodicals, videos, and more.
- Indexes and Databases: Search all of the libraries' indexes and databases by title, subject or resource type. Once you choose an index or database, search your topic.
- Go directly to the suggested databases given to you by your librarian.
The library databases contain scholarly peer-reviewed literature along with other types and sources of information. The links below provide additional information on the types of information available.
Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?
Tutorials and Guides:
Journals
Journals can be searched using Journal Search. Journals can be searched or browsed.
Direct Links to suggested journals:
Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Public Administration and Policy Research
Review of Public Personnel Administration
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
Recommended Databases
- PAIS IndexPAIS Index provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations
- Social Science Premium (ProQuest)Social Science Premium Collection is the parent collection that contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest. It covers anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
- Policy MapPolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.
- Academic Search PremierAn excellent place to start your research.
The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more. - Google ScholarSearch is limited to scholarly articles. Some available in Full-Text (must be logged in). Advanced Search available.
Additional Databases
- Best Bets for Planning, Public Policy and Public AdministrationAdditional database for Planning, Public Policy, and Public Administration.
- Best Bets SociologyAdditional databases for Sociology research.
- Best Bets for Political ScienceAdditional databases for Political Science research.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThe database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy.
- Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier is a database covering business and management topics, including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and operations management. It includes articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Google Scholar
Not everything on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed. It is not possible to filter only to peer-reviewed, so pay attention to your sources! Google Scholar also does not contain ALL the scholarship, especially the most recent articles that may be available in a library database.
Google Scholar automatically places AND between words: zombie library (This will conduct a search for zombie and library)
Exact Phrase Searching: Enter the phrase in quotation marks: "zombie apocalypse"
Search related words: ~library (This will conduct a search for library, libraries, librarian)
Search for alternative words: use OR (must be caps), with terms in parentheses:
Limit to specific sites: limit to specific sites such as .org/.edu/.gov at end of search type site: type you wish to limit to ex: "zombie apocalypse" site: .org
Search for alternate terms using OR, with the terms enclosed in parentheses: (zombie OR undead)
Settings:
1. Link to Bibliography Manager (RefWorks)
2. Library Links- Choose Rutgers in order to see what is available to you via Rutgers subscriptions.