Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Contemporary Policing 342

Documentaries

database contains streaming videos Frontline: Policing the Police 2020
"Race, policing and the struggle to hold departments accountable. In the wake of George Floyd's killing, New Yorker writer Jelani Cobb examines prospects for reform and returns to the case of one troubled department he first visited in 2016." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos Frontline: Police on Trial
"Investigating the Minneapolis police in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos Frontline: Shots Fired
"Amid record police shootings in Utah, an investigation into the use of deadly force in the state." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos Defending New York
"In the aftermath of 9/11, the NYPD has transformed itself from a traditional crime-fighting organization into one also focused on fighting terrorism." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos Do Not Resist
"An exploration of the rapid militarization of the police in the United States" Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos Ernie & Joe: Crisis Cops
"Follows two police officers with the San Antonio Texas Police Department who are diverting people away from jail and into mental health treatment, one 911 call at a time." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos The Force
"Beginning in 2014, this film chronicles two years with the Oakland Police Department, which, in 2003, was put under federal oversight for misconduct and civil rights abuses. Relations between the department and the community are explored in the wake of nationally publicized police shootings and the advent of the Black Lives Matter Movement" Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos P.S. I Can't Breathe
"On December 13th 2014, tens of thousands of New Yorkers took to the streets to call attention to the deaths of unarmed black men at the hands of the police and to urge lawmakers to take action." Rutgers-restricted Access
database contains streaming videos The Throwaways
"A personal exploration of the devastating impact of police brutality and mass incarceration on the black community, told through the eyes of formerly incarcerated activist Ira McKinley." Rutgers-restricted Access