Skip to Main Content

Libraries Home Camden Health Sciences Newark New Brunswick Archives | Law

Intro to Media Studies

Alternative Press

Alternative Press Index: Index to over 300 international journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. 1991 - present. Rutgers-restricted Access

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside: Digitized newspapers originally published by the incarcerated in U.S. prisons. Rutgers-restricted Access

Association of Alternative Newsmedia Directory: The AAN represents nearly 100 alternative newsmedia organizations throuhout North America. Many of the directory entries include links to the publications, many of which have searchable archives.

Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s: Full text access to eleven Ku Klux Klan newspapers, six pro-Klan newspapers, and two anti-Klan newspapers published between 1921 and 1932. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Independent Voices: Full text access to alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, including periodicals produced by radical student organizations; LGBT, African-American, Native American, and Latino activists; feminists, dissident military personnel, and others.

GenderWatch: A full-text collection of journals, magazines, and newsletters illustrating the impact of gender to a wide range of subject areas. Rutgers-restricted Access

Left Index: Index, with some full text content, to leftist and radical writings. 1911 - present. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBTQ+ Source: Index to scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues, including journals, books, magazines, and newspapers. Mid-20th century to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access

Mother Jones: Publication of the Foundation for National Progress, a "reader-supported investigative news organization." 1990-present. Rutgers-restricted Access

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2023 12:51 PM
URL: https://libguides.rutgers.edu/mediaintro
Print Page

Subjects: Course Guides (Newark), Journalism & Media Studies

Tags: journalism, Media_Studies, news, newspapers

Rutgers University Libraries

169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries

Contact the Libraries

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.