Samantha Kannegiser (Camden)
Student Success Librarian
Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers-Camden
300 N. 4th St.
Camden, NJ 08201
Accessing the Article
We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. If you find an article you want to read and the full text is not available via PDF or HTML links, try the following:
1. Select the 
button. Select the link to full-text.
2. If you do not see a link to full text, select “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the catalog record for the journal title (if available). Check if the article is available online in the Electronic Access section.The record also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.
3. If Rutgers University Libraries has the article, but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button in the record.
4. If RUL does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days.
Encyclopedias and Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Childhood Studies: Rutgers-restricted resource that is international and cross-cultural in scope, transcending narrow geographical confines and analyzing modern and historical childhoods both locally and globally.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies: Rutgers-restricted resource. An interdisciplinary encyclopedia covering topics related to children and childhood studies including social constructions of childhood, children's rights, politics/representations/geographies, child-specific research methods, histories of childhood, transnational childhoods, sociology/anthropology of childhood theories and theorists, and other key concepts.
Databases & Search Engines
- QuickSearch: The library search bar which searches books, articles, and more. Use the left-sidebar to narrow to Peer-Reviewed Journals to see only academic articles.
- Google Scholar: This link allows you to search Google Scholar and see a "Get it @ R" link next to every resource available from Rutgers University Libraries.
- Academic Search Premier: Rutgers-restricted database covering nearly every area of academic study.
- AnthroSource: Rutgers-restricted collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings.
- Anthropology Plus: Rutgers-restricted journal articles, reports, and commentaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.