Getting to the Article
We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the 
button.
- Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will be brought directly to the article.
- If the article is not available, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button that will show in Library Catalog record (after signing in with NETID or requesting a copy through Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery. Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days (longer currently due COVID).
Searching Tips
Searching Tips:
Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search (use the filters, usually on the left)
Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching.
Pay attention to what is available in the database you are searching (full text?, years available, etc.)
Let the database help you!
If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.
Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology.
Browzine
- What is BrowZineBrowse current issues of scholarly journals on any device
Follow your favorite titles and get notifications when new issues are published
Access articles still in press
Save articles for offline reading
Export references to citation managers such as RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero
Finding Articles
To find articles, you can use the following access points:
- QuickSearch (QuickSearch Help): Use one search bar to find journals, articles, books, periodicals, videos, and more.
- Indexes and Databases: Search all of the libraries' indexes and databases by title, subject or resource type. Once you choose an index or database, search your topic.
- Go directly to the suggested databases given to you by your librarian.
The library databases contain scholarly peer-reviewed literature along with other types and sources of information. The links below provide additional information on the types of information available.
Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?
Tutorials and Guides:
Starting Databases
- Criminal Justice AbstractsCriminal Justice Abstracts is a comprehensive index of scholarship on criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from the early 20th century to the present.
- ProQuest Social Sciences PremiumThe ProQuest Social Science Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. A majority of the titles are published outside of the United States. This resource is both international and interdisciplinary in scope
Additional Databases
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS)1960's-present. Citations and Abstracts with some full text available.
- JSTORJSTOR is a platform for journals, books, images, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Academic Search PremierThis general database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
- Best Bets for Criminal JusticeAdditional databases for Criminal Justice research.
- Best Bets for SociologyAdditional databases for Sociology research.
Current Events and News
- Access World NewsIndex to newspapers around the world. Full text available.
Philadelphia Inquirer, The Star Ledger, Local NJ and PA area newspapers. - Westlaw Campus ResearchNew York Times. Washington Post.
- CQ Researcher1991 to present. Full text on current topics.
- Ethnic NewsWatch1960 to present, full text of minority, native and ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals.
- FactivaIncludes access to the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, the Washington Post and other major global newspapers. Choose HOME for recent news and specific publications on the Newsstand or Search.
- Current Events, Consumer Info & Popular CultureLinks to various types of consumer information, current event, and popular culture sites
Google Scholar
Not everything on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed. It is not possible to filter only to peer-reviewed, so pay attention to your sources! Google Scholar also does not contain ALL the scholarship, especially the most recent articles that may be available in a library database.
Google Scholar automatically places AND between words: zombie library (This will conduct a search for zombie and library)
Exact Phrase Searching: Enter the phrase in quotation marks: "zombie apolcalypse"
Search related words: ~library (This will conduct a search for library, libraries, librarian)
Search for alternative words: use OR (must be caps), with terms in parentheses:
Search for alternate terms using OR, with the terms enclosed in parentheses: (zombie OR undead)
Settings:
1. Link to Bibliography Manager (RefWorks)
2. Library Links- Choose Rutgers in order to see what is available to you via Rutgers subscriptions.