Camden SWPS1, Social Welfare Policy & Services

These databases provide access to articles that are useful for policy history and analysis/evaluation.  Other databases may also be relevant, depending on your topic. For a more complete list, see this page

To find articles, you can use the following access points:

• QuickSearch  (QuickSearch Help): Use one search bar to find journals, articles, books, periodicals, videos, and more. 
• Indexes and Databases: Search all of the libraries' indexes and databases by title, subject or resource type. Once you choose an index or database, search your topic.
• Go directly to the suggested databases given to you by your librarian. 

The library databases contain scholarly peer-reviewed literature along with other types and sources of information. The links below provide additional information on the types of information available.

Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference?

Tutorials and Guides: 

• Getting started with research
• Sources of information
• Searching for information
• Evaluating Information

• Use AND to combine your concepts, e.g., child abuse AND alcohol (AND must be in caps)
• Use OR to combine synonyms, related terms, e.g., domestic violence OR family violence (OR must be in caps)
• Parentheses allow complex queries to be layered, e.g., child abuse AND (alcohol OR substance abuse)
• Use the * (asterik)  to search for the root word and any ending, e.g., parent* will retrieve parent, parents, parenthood, parenting.
• To search for an exact phrase, place the phrase in quotation marks, e.g., "attachment theory"
• On  the results list page, on the left-hand side, choose under LIMIT TO "peer-reviewed journals"  and under  RESOURCE TYPE choose  " Articles".
• See also Refining Results
• Use Advanced Search to limit your search to specific fields, like title, author, or subject  (select Articles from Resource type on the right).

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the button.

• Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will be brought directly to the article.
• If  the article is not available, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button that will show in Library Catalog record (after signing in with NETID or requesting a copy through Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery.  Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days.