Contemporary Policing

This PBS town hall meeting, moderated by PBS NEWSHOUR co-anchor and managing editor Gwen Ifill, explores events following Michael Brown's death in Ferguson, Missouri. The program, recorded before an audience on the campus of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, will include national leaders and prominent thinkers in the areas of law enforcement, race and civil rights, as well as government officials, faith leaders and youth.

Brings a historical perspective to the problems of escalating crime and the public's fear of it, by exploring the evolution of crime and criminal penalties in American society. Tells how the regulation of gambing, drugs and pornography are rooted in colonial America. Looks at the rise of penitentaries and experiments to transform offenders, how law and the legal system has evolved in the United States, concluding with stalking laws and "three-strike" laws. Includes interviews with police, judges, historians, prison wardens, prosecutors, reformers and citizens as they speak about their experiences with crime and criminals.

DO NOT RESIST is an urgent and powerful exploration of the rapid militarization of the police in the United States. Starting on the streets of Ferguson, Missouri as the community grapples with the death of Michael Brown, DO NOT RESIST - the directorial debut of DETROPIA cinematographer Craig Atkinson - offers a stunning look at the current state of policing in America and a glimpse into the future. This Tribeca Film Festival winner for Best Documentary puts viewers in the center of the action, - from a ride - along with a South Carolina SWAT team to inside a police training seminar that teaches the importance of "righteous violence"

This special A&E presentation examines the reality of policing in America, the racial and economic conflicts, and historical challenges that changed policing over the course of American history.

Focuses on racial profiling in law enforcement, investigating the issue from the victim's point of view as well as through the eyes of the police.

The Talk – Race in America is a two-hour film about “the talk” that parents have with their children of color (primarily boys) to teach them how to act around the police in order to remain safe.

is a collection of over 60,000 streaming videos in a wide variety of academic areas, including anthropology, art & design, business, criminal justice, diversity studies, education, gender & sexuality, health sciences, history, literature & language, music & performing arts, psychology & counseling, science & engineering, social sciences, and more. The collection includes videos from over 1,500 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers, such as 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Intelecom, Insight Media, Microtraining, Filmakers Library, Envision, Inc., Stanley Milgram, Dallas Telecourses, and Davidson Films

is a collection of over 1,500 feature-length documentary films made by independent filmakers from all over the world. The majority of the films date from 1974 to the 21st century. The films focus on social and political issues and are relevant to a variety of academic areas, including anthropology, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, and literature.

provides access to a broad selection of streaming video titles for educational purposes, including documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films. Kanopy's collection includes films from hundreds of content providers, including New Day Films, PBS, the Criterion Channel, Kino Lorber, and Documentary Educational Resources.

Enlightening award winning documentary films on current social, political and cultural issues. Browse through titles or related subject listings such as Law & Administration, Crime, Civil Liberties, Civil Rights, Race and Ethnicity and more.

provides digital access to course-assigned feature films and documentaries. Because this service is maintained to support classroom instruction, the films available through Swank will vary from semester to semester. All films Rutgers can access on the Swank platform can also be found (by title) in QuickSearch.