Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Primary Sources at Rutgers University-Newark Archives: Getting Started

The Rutgers University-Newark Archives (RUNA) documents the history of the Rutgers-Newark campus and its impact as an anchor institution in the city of Newark.

Overview, Mission and Access

For decades, dedicated librarians at John Cotton Dana Library collected and stewarded archival materials which were generated and compiled by the Rutgers-Newark campus community.  The Rutgers University-Newark Archives was formally established in 2019 and documents the legacies of the Rutgers-Newark campus and its impact as an anchor institution in the city of Newark.  

 

The archives are open to everyone and materials may be accessed only by appointment.   

Record Groups and Record Types

The bulk of archival materials were generated for and by Rutgers University and fall into three groups. 

 

Administrative

productivity features budget requests, strategic plans, annual accountability reports, historical directories, handbooks for faculty and students respectively, course catalogs, academic program guides, newsletters 

 

Faculty

public-facing scholarship featuring conference proceedings, historical journals, newsletters, magazines    

 

Student 

year books, magazines, newspapers, scrapbooks  

Administrative Creators and Compilers

Alumni Center    

Alumni Communications  

Dana College, Newark   

Department of University Communications and Marketing and Rutgers University Alumni Association  

Department of University Relations  

Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary schools   

New Jersey State Board of Higher Education  

Newark College of Arts and Sciences  

Newark Colleges of Rutgers University  

Newark Institute of Arts and Sciences   

Newark University  

Office of Campus Communications  

Office of the Chancellor   

Office of Institutional Research and Planning  

Office of Media Relations  

Office of Physical and Capital Planning   

Office of the President   

Office of the Provost, Newark   

Office of Public Information    

Office of the Registrar      

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs    

Office of the Senior Vice President and Treasurer  

Office of Student Affairs, Newark Campus    

Office of the Vice President for Program Development and Budgeting   

Paul Robeson Galleries  

Program for Organizational Quality and Improvement   

Robert Heller & Associates, Incorporated, Cleveland    

Rutgers University Newark Communications  

Rutgers University Foundation  

Task Force on Undergraduate Education 

University of Newark   

Faculty Creators and Compilers

College of Nursing  

Dana Library Faculty and Staff  

Daniel, Carter A.  

Drinkard, Gerard   

Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Newark   

Graduate School, Newark   

Graduate School of Business Administration and Management  

Graduate School of Management  

Joseph Cornwall Center for Metropolitan Studies   

Peniston, William  

PhD in Management Programs  

Rutgers Business School, Newark and New Brunswick  

School of Business Administration   

School of Criminal Justice  

School of Law   

School of Management    

Rutgers University Libraries  

Ryan, Donald L.   

Student Creators and Compilers

College Department of New Jersey Law School   

Dana College Student Council   

Honors College at Rutgers-Newark   

Newark College of Arts and Sciences   

Rutgers University College Women’s Club  

School of Law Student Council  

University College  

Contact the Archivist

Angela Lawrence's picture
Angela Lawrence
Contact:
Dana Library, 4th Floor
185 University Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 353-3797
Subjects:Music

Selected Collection Highlights

Student publications are described in further detail on page 2. 

 

Administrative holdings: 

  • Board of Trustees meeting proceedings from Rutgers-Newark legacy institution, Newark College of Arts and Sciences, dated 1928 – 1943  
  • diplomas for musician and actor Ozzie Nelson, known for the television series The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet     

  • architectural plans for twentieth century campus construction projects   

  • student handbooks dating back to the 1930’s from our legacy institution, Dana College  

 

Faculty public-facing activity:  

  • News from Poems, 2 issues, 1996, undated.  Sponsored by the English department, this publication contains winning poetry contest entries by New Jersey high school juniors and seniors.  
  • Ostraka magazine for literary and visual art submissions, 2 issues, 1997 Fall, 1998 Spring  

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.