Research Guides: Social Work Practice II-Intensive Weekend Program (19:910:501): Evidence-Based Resources

What is evidence based practice?

Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a process in which the practitioner combines well-researched interventions with clinical experience and ethics, and client preferences and culture to guide and inform the delivery of treatments and services. (Social Work Policy Institute)

EBPs (evidence based practices) integrate clinical expertise; expert opinion; external scientific evidence; and client, patient, and caregiver perspectives so that providers can offer high-quality services that reflect the interests, values, needs, and choices of the individuals served. (SAMHSA)

Evidence-Based Practice and Research Resources

Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development provides a registry of evidence-based positive youth development programs designed to promote the health and well-being of children and teens
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC)
"The primary goal of this website is to provide a searchable database of programs that can be utilized by professionals that serve children and families involved with the child welfare system."
EPC Evidence-Based Reports-AHRQ
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Scroll down and see the links for "Mental Health Conditions and Substance Abuse," "Older Adults," and "Violence, Trauma."
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
"The Resource Center contains a collection of science-based resources and is part of SAMHSA’s new comprehensive approach to identify and disseminate clinically sound and scientifically based policy, practices, and programs." (The National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP) was phased out.)
Office of Juvenile Delinquency Prevention (OJDP) Model Programs
Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse
This site provides synthesis and dissemination of research and demonstration findings on self-sufficiency, employment, and family and child well-being. BROWSE By TOPICS
Social Programs that Work
"This site seeks to identify those programs found in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and society."

Meta-Analyses and Systematic Reviews

Campbell Systematic Reviews-Campbell Collaboration
Campbell systematic reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.
The Cochrane Library
Updated regularly, this database contains the fulltext of systematic reviews of health care topics, including many that are related to social work practice.
PsycINFO
Searches on interventions can be limited to systematic reviews or meta-analyses via the Methodology filter box by clicking the Additional Limits button.

Clearinghouses, Best Practices, Traiing

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. It is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice
"The EBBP.org project creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice."
Basics of Evidence-Based Programs-Center for Healthy Aging