Antiracist
“In a racist society, it is not enough to be non-racist—we must be anti-racist.” — Angela Davis, 1979
Paul Robeson
“We ask for nothing that is not right, and herein lies the
great power of our demand.” – Paul Robeson
The library is named for civil rights activist and Rutgers graduate Paul Robeson. We recognize the legacy of his voice speaking up and out against racism. Learn more about Paul Robeson and his Antiracist activism here:
Paul Robeson by ISBN: 9780745335315Publication Date: 2016-03-15In Paul Robeson, Gerald Horne discovers within Robeson's remarkable and revolutionary life the story of the twentieth century's great political struggles: against racism, against colonialism, against poverty--and for international socialism. This critical and searching biography provides an opportunity for readers to comprehend the triumphs and tragedies of the revolutionary progressive movement of which Robeson was not just a part, but perhaps its most resonant symbol.
Suggested Authors
A list of suggested authors. Links go to Rutgers University Libraries catalog items written by the author that are available electronically. You can also search the catalog for additional items about the author, and search our databases for additional materials by and about the author.
Follow on Twitter
Antiracist Reading Lists
- Your Bookshelf May Be Part Of The Problem"Anti-racist books will only do a person good if they silence themselves first and enter into the reading — provided they care enough to do so"
- What Is an Anti-Racist Reading List For?"The books are there, they’ve always been there, yet the lists keep coming, bathing us in the pleasure of a recommendation. But that’s the thing about the reading. It has to be done."
Media
- 1619 Project PodcastAn audio series from The Times observing the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery.
- About RacePodcast : Our National Conversation About Conversations About Race
- Black Feminism & the Movement for Black Lives: Barbara Smith, Reina Gossett, Charlene Carruthers (50:48)Video: Black Feminism remains a foundational theory and practice guiding social justice movements for Black lives.
- NPR CodeswitchHosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on. We explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between.
Antiracist Research and Policy Center
- Antiracist Research and Policy Center- American UniversityThe mission of The Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC) is to convene and team up varied specialists to figure out novel and practical ways to understand, explain, and solve seemingly intractable problems of racial inequity and injustice. Our research and policy work is deliberately antiracist. We consider racist policies and ideas, and not certain racial groups, to be the racial problem. We strive to build an antiracist society of racial equity and justice.
Submit a source
This list is by no means comprehensive, nor is it intended as such. It is a work in progress. Suggested sources are most welcome. Antiracist work involves learning and listening and I welcome any feedback that will help enhance this guide.
Please send an email with feedback and suggestions.
Katie Anderson
she/her
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
Text or call: 856-477-3535
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
Text or call: 856-477-3535
Office 856-225-2830
Website
Starting Your Research
This guide is intended as a starting point for research on Antiracism with a focus on sources that are available at Rutgers. It is a work in progress and will be updated regularly as new sources are identified and/or become available.
Antiracism is the practice of identifying, challenging, and changing the values, structures and behaviors that perpetuate systemic racism.
Research on Antiracism is interdisciplinary and this guide is a general introduction. For further assistance with more specific resources contact a Subject Librarian or see our Research Guides.
Anti-Racist Resources in the Libraries
- Rutgers Reads 2020This guide highlights the work of Work of Nikole Hannah-Jones. These selections include both her focus on school segregation and the 1619 project. This guide supports an upcoming virtual event with the author.
- Anti-Racist Resources in the LibrariesThe books showcased on this guide are a sampling of the research that has been devoted to the many interdisciplinary and intersectional issues on race in America. All the books included in this guide are available online through Rutgers Libraries. .
- Database: Black Thought and CultureBlack Thought and Culture offers the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture, including Frederick Douglas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Ida Wells, A. Phillip Randolph, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jesse Jackson and hundreds of others. One of the collection’s major features is the complete run of the Black Panther newspaper, 1966- 1980. Another highlight is a wide selection of abolitionists' writings from the nineteenth century.
Rutgers Resources
See above Anti-Racist Resources guide for additional titles and information on accessing electronic books.
Antiracism Inc by ISBN: 9781950192236Publication Date: 2019-04-25Antiracism Inc., co-edited by Felice Blake, Paula Ioanide, and Alison Reed, traces the ways people along the political spectrum appropriate, incorporate, and neutralize antiracist discourses to perpetuate injustice.
The Everyday Language of White Racism by ISBN: 1282007831Publication Date: 2009-01-01In "The Everyday Language of White Racism," Jane H. Hill provides an incisive analysis of everyday language to reveal the underlying racist stereotypes that continue to circulate in American culture.
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by ISBN: 1608465632Publication Date: 2016-02-01The author of Race for Profit carries out "[a] searching examination of the social, political and economic dimensions of the prevailing racial order" (Michelle Alexander, author of The New Jim Crow).
Good White People by ISBN: 1438451709Publication Date: 2014-05-08Argues for the necessity of a new ethos for middle-class white anti-racism.
How to Be an Antiracist by ISBN: 9780525509288Publication Date: 2019-08-13In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas—from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilites—that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their posionous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves
Me and White Supremacy by ISBN: 9781728209807Publication Date: 2020-01-28This eye-opening book challenges you to do the essential work of unpacking your biases, and helps white people take action and dismantle the privilege within themselves so that you can stop (often unconsciously) inflicting damage on people of color, and in turn, help other white people do better, too.
The New Jim Crow by ISBN: 9781595581037Publication Date: 2010-01-05Outside of prisons, a web of laws and regulations discriminates against these wrongly convicted ex-offenders in voting, housing, employment and education. Alexander here offers an urgent call for justice.
The Possessive Investment in Whiteness by ISBN: 9781439916384Publication Date: 2018-07-13George Lipsitz's classic book The Possessive Investment in Whiteness argues that public policy and private prejudice work together to create a possessive investment in whiteness that is responsible for the racialized hierarchies of our society.
Race, Work, and Leadership by ISBN: 1633698017Publication Date: 2019-09-03Rethinking How to Build Inclusive Organizations Race, Work, and Leadership is a rare and important compilation of essays that examines how race matters in people's experience of work and leadership.
Race and Social Change by ISBN: 1119359430Publication Date: 2017-02-02A powerful study illuminates our nation's collective civic fault lines Recent events have turned the spotlight on the issue of race in modern America, and the current cultural climate calls out for more research, education, dialogue, and understanding.
Race for Profit by ISBN: 9781469653662Publication Date: 2019-10-21Narrating the story of a sea-change in housing policy and its dire impact on African Americans, Race for Profit reveals how the urban core was transformed into a new frontier of cynical extraction.
Realizing the Civil Rights Dream by ISBN: 9781440853753Publication Date: 2017-08-24This book explains why America can realize the civil rights dream in the 21st century--if U.S. citizens take actions as individuals as well as work together for equality.
Seeing Race Again by ISBN: 9780520300972Publication Date: 2019-02-05Seeing Race Again documents the profoundly contradictory role of the academy in constructing, naturalizing, and reproducing racial hierarchy. It shows how colorblindness compromises the capacity of disciplines to effectively respond to the wide set of contemporary political, economic, and social crises marking public life today.
Sister Outsider by ISBN: 1580911862Publication Date: 2007-08-01Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change.
They Were Her Property by ISBN: 0300218664Publication Date: 2019-02-19White women actively participated in the slave market, profited from it, and used it for economic and social empowerment. By examining the economically entangled lives of enslaved people and slave‑owning women, Jones-Rogers presents a narrative that forces us to rethink the economics and social conventions of slaveholding America.
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria? by ISBN: 0465083617Publication Date: 2003-01-17The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism-now fully revised and updated
Witnessing Whiteness by ISBN: 1283600927Publication Date: 2010-01-01Witnessing Whiteness invites readers to consider what it means to be white, describes and critiques strategies used to avoid race issues, and identifies the detrimental effect of avoiding race on cross-race collaborations.
Women, Race, and Class by ISBN: 9780394713519Publication Date: 1983-02-12A powerful study of the women's liberation movement in the U.S., from abolitionist days to the present, that demonstrates how it has always been hampered by the racist and classist biases of its leaders. From the widely revered and legendary political activist and scholar Angela Davis.
Black Lives Matter
- Antiracist Resources HandoutGoing to an event or a protest and want to share? Download and share this one page handout. Includes links to this page and many more.
