Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Information
The databases and journals listed below are starting places for locating materials related to criminology. The QuickSearch tutorial can also assist with how to word searches and combine terms to find applicable materials.
Academic Search Premier
The collection contains peer-reviewed scholarly journals, magazines, several major newspapers, and a limited number of books, conference proceedings, and government publications. The full text of many titles is available, but for some titles, the database includes indexing and abstracts only.
American Prison Newspapers
The collection spans the years of 1800-2020, and it includes newspapers from across the United States and from penal institutions of all kinds, including women's-only institutions.
Weekly reports produced by the well-regarded Washington reporting service Congressional Quarterly Inc. Each 24-page report focuses on a specific topic that is perceived as being either newsworthy or an issue of broad interest in the public policy sphere.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
A comprehensive index of scholarship on criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from the early 20th century to the present.
Dissertations and Theses @ RU
Covering all disciplines, the database incorporates ongoing additions for Rutgers dissertations and theses accepted as recently as last semester.
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of laws and regulations, case law, treaties and agreements, scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, and related materials.
Provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals. Journals that do not include full-text may be requested using the Article Delivery Service.
Provides legal news and current awareness tools in a wide variety of law practice areas. It is updated every business day.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains abstracts of more than 200,000 justice publications, including Federal, State and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, documents and unpublished research on a wide range of criminal justice topics.
Online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.
ProQuest Social Science Premium
Abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals.
ProQuest Sociology Database
This database provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
An index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields.
Provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, sociology, and other fields.
Collection of over 5000 eBooks, including monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
A citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Platform for journals and ebooks published by Springer. Rutgers subscribes to over 1000 full-text journals and owns over 60,000 ebooks on SpringerLink.
U.S Congressional Publications
Provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy.
U.S Government Publications
Online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications and contains records for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with links to those that are available online.
Westlaw Campus Research
A collection of thousands of law, news, and business publications. It is especially useful for legal research, and it is regularly updated with the most recent news and legal information.
Finding Topics in Criminology