Emergency Medicine
Associate Director and Coordinator of Medical Education
Victoria Wagner
Contact:
Robert Wood Johnson Library of the Health Sciences
Subjects: Medical Education
Key Databases
- ACCESSMedicine AccessMedicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource. Searching is available across the entire suite of basic sciences and clinical texts. An A-Z index and QuickAccess search also provide easy access to material. In order to access review questions (Q&A) or the Cases you need to be logged into your MyAccess personal account. You will then be able to access them under the Study Tools.
- AccessPharmacy ccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. It allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, and review textbooks. Integrated case studies, care plans, self-assessment tools, and NAPLEX review help students to develop and track key skills. The database includes monthly updates by the editors of Pharmacotherapy and Goodman & Gilman's, bi-monthly Hot Topic responses to key articles, daily news from the Pharmacotherapy News Network, drug monographs, and the Herb and Supplement Database. In order to access review questions (Q&A) or the Cases you need to be logged into your MyAccess personal account. You will then be able to access them under the Study Tool
- APA PsycInfo (including PsycArticles) APA PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. APA PsycInfo includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included.
- BoardVitals Users must register to access this resource. You may register with any email address as long as you do so initially while you are using a computer on the Rutgers network/IP range. The titles in the BoardVitals series are question banks that can be used to study for various medical, nursing, and dental board and licensing examinations. Questions are arranged in topical sections; it is possible to proceed through the questions by section or to view them in a randomized way which combines all of the sections. Each question contains the most current and detailed explanations for all questions. Questions may be taken as a self-paced exam or users may opt to view them in a timed session, more like the actual board exams. Content of the question banks is updated so that they are most similar to the actual versions of the latest exams.
- BrowZine BrowZine is a web-based “journal engagement” platform and mobile app that enables library users to quickly find, easily follow, and directly access the library’s licensed e-journals on any device. BrowZine visually presents the library’s e-journals in a browsable and readable format with seamless synchronization across devices.
- CINAHL CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. English language publications in nursing and allied health are indexed completely. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes citations for nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, health related books, educational software, and the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Journals in the related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship are indexed selectively. CINAHL offers cited reference searching from 1994 to the present. The pool of journal titles from which these articles are drawn currently numbers 1,200. Full-text/full image items include nurse practice acts, standards of practice, drug records, research instruments,critical paths, clinical trials, and the contents of 610 journals including state and regional nursing association titles. As of March 2009, CINAHL includes access to Pre-CINAHL citations. Pre-CINAHL, designed as a current awareness database, contains brief citations for new journal articles that will be integrated into CINAHL in four weeks from the date of receipt.
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey provides information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service. It provides full-text access to over 500 Elsevier journals, 1,000 e-books, and 9,000 medical and procedural videos. Additionally, it provides access to clinical practice guidelines, clinical trials, patient handouts, and the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed database. The latter covers journal citations and abstracts to the published health sciences journal literature. There are also collections of images, drug monographs, and access to Procedures Consult. Users can export content for use in PowerPoint presentation.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This is a freely accessible website from the U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and members of the public access to information about human, clinical research studies for diseases and conditions. Private and public funded studies are part of the database.
- The Cochrane Library Focusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective. The reviews include a summary of research results from random controlled trials, the group's meta-analysis, links to references, and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing, The other databases include Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, a database of quality assessments and review summaries not conducted by Cochrane, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the world's largest directory of random controlled trials with journal article citations in the entries, Cochrane Methodology Register, a bibliography of books and journal articles where researchers have reported on the methods used in random clinical trials, Health Technology Assessment Database, a collection of assessment studies of medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database, which identifies information about cost-effectiveness of interventions.
- DynaMed (Mobile Friendly) Dynamed is a just-in-time clinical reference tool integrating evidence-based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. It includes clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, calculators, and links to full-text articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) PubMed. It offers Maintenance of Certification, AMA, AAFP, and AANP credits. Dynamed can be accessed on the web or through a mobile app.
- Essential Evidence Plus A database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases: EBM Guidelines; Daily POEMs; Cochrane Abstracts; Selected Practice Guidelines; Decision Support Calculators; H&P Calculators; Diagnostic Test Calculators; Derm Expert; E/M Coding; ICD-9 Lookup Tool. Users may create a profile and have InfoPOEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) sent via e-mail.
- IBM Micromedex IBM Micromedex is a reference database for evidence-based drug, disease, and toxicology information. Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to the academic version of Micromedex and to the add-on tool Red Book, which provides drug manufacturer and pricing information. Red Book can be found in the “Other Tools” dropdown menu. Micromedex offers searching by drug, disease, or toxicology. In addition, the Ask Watson search uses artificial intelligence to produce answers to simple drug reference questions.
- JAMAevidence In order to assist health professionals in the practice of evidence-based health care, JAMAevidence provides guides to the systematic consideration of validity, importance, and applicability of problems and outcomes in health care. It consists of textbooks, user tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process.
- Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.
- Lexicomp Online The Lexicomp Monographs are an excellent resource for drug doses, mechanisms of action, drug interactions and adverse effects. This is an excellent point-of care resource.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 25 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The “Choose Databases” option allows searching of multiple EBSCO databases. Select “MEDLINE” and “CINAHL with Full Text” to search both simultaneously.
- MEDLINE (OVID) Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 25 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. It also includes In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, which provide basic information and abstracts for newly published articles before they are indexed with MeSH headings. It also includes ePub Ahead of Print records for articles submitted to the National Library of Medicine before a journal issue’s publication.
- PDR.net The PDR is the most recognized drug information reference source in the U.S. The searcher can type in the drug name or browse a list of drugs. This website also includes a list of clinical articles selected by a team of physicians. This team of editors reviews articles published in over 2,000 medical journals and the popular press. Within 24 hours of publication, the team writes a summary of each article, sorts it into 35 specialties and 800 subspecialties, and ranks it for its clinical relevance.
- PubMed ubMed, available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, was developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE.PubMed coverage also includes the following: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM
- PubMed Central PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). All the articles in PubMed Central are free (sometimes on a delayed basis). Some journals go beyond free, to Open Access.
- Scopus Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles) and health sciences (6,800+ titles), followed by the life sciences (4,300+ titles), and finally the social sciences & humanities (5,300+ titles). Titles included in Scopus are selected based on journal policies, content, journal standing, regularity of publication, and online availability. More than 25,000 titles (including open access journals) from around the world are covered in Scopus. Patents in Scopus come from five patent offices: US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office. In Scopus, it is possible to perform quick searches by document, author, or affiliation. The Advanced search option offers greater customization, allowing for the use of field codes and proximity operators. Results can be further refined by publication year, author name, document type, source name, affiliation, language, and more. There are several methods of analysis available in Scopus. The Journal Analyzer compares the citation metrics of different journals. Articles or other documents can be analyzed using the Citation Overview/Tracker. For authors, there is the Author Evaluator and h-index.
- STAT!Ref Medical STAT!Ref Medical is a collection of full-text medical and drug information textbooks for health professionals. The TDS Health platform includes links to other TDS Health databases, Steadman's Medical Dictionary, EBMcalc, a medical newsfeed from Reuters, STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts, and ICD-10 Conversion Tools.
- UpToDate Users must register in order to download mobile versions of the product. Any email address may be used as long as the user does so on a computer on the Rutgers network/IP range. A limit of thee downloads of the mobile app are allowed per person, on up to three devices. Registration is also required in order to earn CME/CE/CPD credit via UpToDate. ONLY AUTHORIZED RUTGERS UNIVERSITY USERS MAY ACCESS AND/OR DOWNLOAD THE APP FOR THIS PRODUCT TO A MOBILE DEVICE.
- VisualDX VisualDX is a differential diagnosis decision support tool, designed to be used at the point-of-care. It contains peer-reviewed information. Once a diagnosis has been established, the following information may be retrieved from VisualDX: Synopsis ICD-10 Codes Diagnostic Pearls Differential Diagnosis and Pitfalls Best Tests Management Pearls Therapy References
- Web of Science Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals. Indexing for each work in the Core Collection includes its authors, author affiliations, and cited references; in total, the Core Collection includes over 1 billion cited references. In addition to the Core Collection, Web of Science provides access to several regional, subject, and format-specific databases. Within the Web of Science platform, databases can be searched together or individually, and they are organized thus: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index Expanded: 1900-present Social Sciences Citation Index: 1900-present Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975-present Book Citation Index--Science: 2005-present Book Citation Index--Social Science & Humanities: 2005-present Conference Proceedings Citation Index--Science: 1990-present Conference Proceedings Citation Index--Social Science & Humanities: 1990-present Current Chemical Reactions (CCR): 1985-present Index Chemicus (IC): 1993-present BIOSIS Citation Index: 1926-present BIOSIS Previews: 1990-present Current Contents Connect: 1998-present Data Citation Index: 1900-present Derwent Innovations Index: 1963-present KCI-Korean Journal Database: 1980-present MEDLINE: 1950-present Russian Science Citation Index: 2005-present SciELO Citation Index: 2002-present Zoological Record® 1864-present Descriptions of these databases can be viewed from within Web of Science. For impact factor of specific journals, see "Journal Citation Reports."
