Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Copyright (for Rutgers University Faculty, Students, and Staff)
"Provides guidance to faculty, students, and staff on Rutgers policy and practice for using copyrighted works in academic research and publication, teaching, and other educational activity. It also offers guidance on copyright law as it applies to works that we create as authors, artists, scholars, teachers, and students."
Home page of the Copyright Clearance Center, which provides licensing systems for the reproduction and distribution of copyrighted materials throughout the world.
Searchable copyright renewal records received by the US Copyright Office between 1950 and 1992 for books published in the US between 1923 and 1963. Note that the database includes ONLY US Class A (book) renewals.
Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
A chart detailing when published and unpublished works from the U.S. and from outside the U.S. pass into the public domain.
Is it Protected by Copyright?
An interactive guide to the copyright status of works first published in the United States.
State Copyright Resource Center
An attempt to "identify the relevant laws and legal sources that affect the copyright status of government documents" from each of the 50 states.
U.S. Copyright Office
Includes general and legal information, forms, and a searchable database of copyright registration information and recorded documents from 1978 to the present.
WATCH: Writers, Artists, and Their Copyright Holders
Founded as a resource principally for copyright questions about literary manuscripts held in the U.S. and the U.K., the database includes copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent figures in other creative fields.