Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Government Publications at Alexander Library: Gov.Pubs. in the Catalog

An overview and collection map for the government publications collections in Alexander Library.

Federal

All federal government publications added to the collections at Alexander Library from August 2002 to the present are included in the Library Catalog. Materials received prior to that date have been added only sporadically.

If a title appears in the Library Catalog for another Rutgers library, but not for Alexander, it is nevertheless likely that Alexander Library owns a copy (excluding the science and technical titles that have been sent to the Library of Science and Medicine). A separate card catalog has been retained to identify material received prior to August 2002.

International Governmental Organizations (IGOs)

All international government publications added to the collections at Alexander Library from 2000 to the present are included in the Library Catalog. Materials received prior to 2000 have been added only sporadically, except for publications from the World Bank, which have been added to the Library Catalog regardless of date.

Uncataloged material remains in the legacy INTERNATIONAL and UNITED NATIONS collections in STACKS 90 through 97 of the government publications collections. A separate card catalog has been retained to identify material received prior to 2000.

Foreign

Documents from countries other than the United States have not been systematically added to the Library Catalog. Most of these materials are not cataloged.

Uncataloged material remains in the legacy FOREIGN collection in STACKS 21 through 25 of the government publications collections. A separate card catalog has been retained to identify material that is not yet included in the Library Catalog.

New Jersey State

All New Jersey state publications housed at Alexander Library are included in the Library Catalog. These items have a DOCNJ sub-location and are located in STACKS 72 through 78 of the government publications collections.

State of New Jersey publications printed prior to 1850 are generally located in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives on the Basement (B) level of Alexander Library.

New Jersey Local and Multi-State

Materials from counties, towns, and multi-state groups such as Port Authority were originally part of the STATE collection which included all states and all government entities within states. There are no specific dates to identify material that's been incorporated into the DOCNJ collection and added to the Library Catalog.

Uncataloged material remains in the legacy STATE collection, but has been collected into STACK 84 of the government publications collections. A separate card catalog has been retained to identify material that is not yet included in the Library Catalog.

Additional, and sometimes duplicate, material is located in the Department of Special Collections and University Archives on the Basement (B) level of Alexander Library, as well as at other Rutgers libraries (e.g., NEWARK collection at Dana).

Other States

Documents from states other than New Jersey have not been systematically made available through the Library Catalog. Most of these materials are not cataloged, although those from states such as New York and Pennsylvania are more likely to be included in the Library Catalog.

Uncataloged material remains in the legacy STATE collection in STACKS 82 through 88 of the government publications collections. A separate card catalog has been retained to identify material that is not yet included in the Library Catalog.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.