Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

African American Literature Up to 1940: Finding Books and Media

Texts

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave
Benjamin Quarles, editor. Cambridge, Mass., Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1988.
Iola Leroy; or, Shadows Uplifted
Frances E.W. Harper. 2d edition. Philadelphia, Pa., Garrigues Bros., 1893.
The Autobiography an an Ex-Colored Man
James Weldon Johnson. 1912
The Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches
W. E. Burghardt Du Bois. 3rd Edition. Chicago, A.C. McClurg & Co., 1903.

Digitized Collections

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
52 published works by 19th century black women writers; key-word searchable. Part of the Digital Schomburg collection.
Black Drama: 1850 to the Present
"The full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries." Rutgers-restricted Access
Black Thought and Culture
The full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture. Includes books, articles and essays, speeches, interviews, pamphlets and correspondence. Rutgers-restricted Access
Literature Online (LION)
The full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, including literary work in various genres from African Americans. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Library Catalogs

Rutgers Library Catalog (QuickSearch)
Search all Rutgers Libraries (except the Law Libraries) for books, videos, media, and other materials.
Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Catalog of the New York Public research library "devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world." The Schomburg Center contains over 5,000,000 items. [Note: When beginning a search session, select "Schomburg Center" from the pull-down menu on the right.]

Cambridge History

The Cambridge History of African American Literature
Maryemma Graham and Jerry W. Ward, Jr., eds. Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Essays on the evolution of African American Literature. Rutgers-restricted Access

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
Yolanda Williams Page, Editor. 2 vols. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2007.
Entries include a biographical profile, major works, critical reception, and a bibliography of works by and about the author. Available?
Encyclopedia of African American Writing
Shari Dorantes Hatch. 2nd edition. Mellerton, Grey House Publishing, 2009.
Over 700 entries on individual writers, as well as on related topics and movements. Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Cary D. Wintz and Paul Finkelman, editors. New York, Routledge, 2004. Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.