Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Medical Education

Mind the Gap is a clinical handbook developed to showcase clinical signs of diseases on black and brown skin.

This collection within MedEdPORTAL provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills, elevates the educational scholarship of anti-racist curricula, and aims to convene a community of collaborators dedicated to the elimination of racism within medical education.

AAMC's TACCT tool enables schools to identify gaps and redundancies in their curricula, gather information from various stakeholders - students and faculty and serves as a blueprint of where, what and when cultural competence content exists in the curriculum. This enables schools to make the best use of opportunities and resources to integrate cultural competence content.

Existing antiracist curricula & syllabi from and for a wide variety of health and healing professions.

The National Anti-Racism in Medicine Curriculum Coalition's self-paced modules on core concepts in anti-racism in medicine for faculty and students.

Includes content-specific modules, reading lists, learning objectives for teaching about health disparities in and out of the clinical setting.

This syllabus on the history of anti-Blackness in American medicine is provided by the African-American Intellectual History Society. It is not exhaustive, it lays important groundwork for bridging this gap and illustrating that questions of race and racism should be central to studying the histories of medicine and science.

Includes guide for facilitated discussions of Fatal Invention by Dorothy Roberts.

This checklist is intended to promote reflection regarding how race, gender, and other indicators (including social determinants of health, such as poverty) are represented in health professions education by evaluating education content, such as a lecture, standardized patient encounter, small group session, or written examination, including slides, handouts, assigned readings, examination questions, problem-based learning cases, or anything said by the presenter during the learning encounter.

Pre-print.

Educational modules on topics such as historical foundations of racism in medicine, structural racism and the Latinx community, and more.

This toolkit provides a framework to embed racial justice and health equity into health systems.

AAMC's videos, tools and links to research that support working with communities health and health care equity.

University of Southern California's School of Social Work toolkit includes worksheets, activities, and additional resources.

American Academy of Family Physicians resources including modules, videos, and facilitation strategies.

CDC's playbook and resources to support public health departments and adaptation planners as they blend JEDI into their climate and health efforts.

Prepared by the American Academy of Family Physicians

Thematically arranged and curated selection of content in a variety of formats to support diverse learning styles.

Addressing Health Equity and Racial Justice within Integrated Care Settings toolkit & learning modules.

Published by Mass General Brigham's Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Resources focused on race and racism but include a larger critical dialogue on bias, identity, intersectionality, and privilege. This toolkit provides examples of resources and learning activities.

Resource repository with links to syllabi, lectures, podcasts, reading lists, and other teaching resources.

Although not exhaustive, the list below offers a list of 42 actions faculty, and members of the academic community can do to advance racial equity in academic medicine, in no particular order.

A curated list created by KEXP a nonprofit arts organization.

This website provides information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups.

The UW Medicine Office of Healthcare Equity's resource list of anti-racist books, videos, podcasts, articles, and more.

This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.

Uhlmann & Cohen, Psychological Science, 2005.

Ross, D. A., et. al., PLoS One, 2017.

Carnes, M., et. al., Academic Medicine, 2015.

Quinn, d. M., Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, 2020.

Trix & Penska, Disclosure & Society, 2003.

Desy,J., et. al., Medical Teacher, 2019.

Tehrani, A., et al., Academic Medicine, 2018.

Bullock, J. L., et. al., Academic Medicine, 2019.

Turrentine, F.E., et. al., Journal of the American College of Surgeons, 2019.

Lucey, C. R., et al., Academic Medicine, 2020.

Strasser, R., et. al., Academic Medicine, 2015.

Boatright, D., et. al., JAMA Internal Medicine, 2017.

Chong, L. , et. al., Journal of Educational Evaluation for Health Professions, 2017.

Dr. Like, Emeritus Professor, RWJMS, Department of Family Medicine & Community Health

Recording Password: NpWKzit5
Sunny Nakae, Senior Associate Dean for Equity, Inclusion, Diversity, and Partnership, Associate Professor of Medical Education, California University of Science and Medicine