CCC ENG 102 (Lehmann)
Reference Librarian, Liaison to Camden County College and Rowan University in Camden
Library Databases
Rutgers University Library Databases
*You may access the database collection of the Rutgers University Libraries when you are in the Robeson Library using your library barcode and PIN.
Art and Art History:
Oxford Art Online Collection of art reference works, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
JSTOR Access full text periodicals on the arts and humanities
General databases with art topics:
New York Times Access to popular (non-scholarly) articles including articles on art, art history, and biography.
Camden County College Library Databases
*CCC students may access these databases anywhere using their CCC login. If you haven't yet signed up for a CCC library card, see the box to the left for instructions on obtaining a card to access CCC materials.
Sign up for your CCC library card right now on the web: Complete the online application.
Links to Rutgers and CCC Art Research guides
- Rutgers University-Camden Art GuideGuide to art resources at the Robeson Library, created by art librarian Zara Wilkinson.
- Camden County College Library Art Research GuideA research guide to digital and print resources and citation tools available through the Wolverton Library at Camden County College
Websites
- The Art StoryFrom the website: "The Art Story is an educational 501(c)(3) non-profit organization founded in 2009 to demystify Modern Art and further art appreciation."
- How To Do Things with PicturesA handbook on writing about art, from Harvard University.
Print Books
Under the Library of Congress Classification System, the fine arts are classified under the letter N with the following subject headings:
N: General Visual Arts
NA: Architecture
NB: Sculpture
NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND: Painting
NE: Print media
NK: Decorative arts
NX: Arts in general
Photography is classified under TR.
Please note that art books are often oversized, large books are located on the folio shelves along the wall at the southern end of the ground floor of the Robeson Library (section 110 on the map linked below)
On Photography by Call Number: TR183.S65 1977ISBN: 0374226261Publication Date: 1977-11-01One of the most highly regarded books of its kind on photography criticism.
Local Museums, Galleries, and Collections
- Abington Art CenterLocated in Abington, PA
- Barnes FoundationLocated in Philadelphia
- Brandywine Museum of ArtLocated in Chadds Ford, PA
- Camden FireworksLocated in Cooper Grant off the Rutgers campus
- The Delaware ContemporaryLocated in Wilmington, DE
- Delaware Museum of ArtLocated in Wilmington, DE
- First Fridays, Old City PhiladelphiaOpen art galleries in Philadelphia's Old City neighborhood
- Galerie MarieLocated in Collingswood, run by the former president of the Barnes Foundation
- Michener Art MuseumLocated in Doylestown, Bucks County, PA
- Noyes Museum of ArtLocations in Hammonton and Atlantic City
- Perkins Center for the ArtsLocations in Collingswood and Moorestown
- Powell Lane ArtsLocated in Collingswood
- Rowan University Art GalleryLocated on the Glassboro campus of Rowan University
- Smithville Mansion Annex GalleryLocated in Easthampton
- Stockton University Art GalleryLocated on the campus of Stockton University, Galloway
- Sutherland ArtsLocated in Voorhees
- Warden's House GalleryLocated in Mount Holly