- Familiar Quotations: a Collection of Passages, Phrases, and Proverbs Traced to Their Sources in Ancient and Modern Literature
Based on the 1919, 10th edition, of Bartlett's, this site offers a keyword search interface, plus a Chronologic Index of Primary Authors, an Alphabetic Index of All Authors, and a Concordance Index to Quotations.
- Familiar Quotations with Parallel Passages from Various Writers
Grocott's collection of 6,700 quotations in 2,000 categories from both British and American authors. Originally published in the 1890s.
- Famous Quotes & Authors
Browse more than 25,000 quotes by author or topic.
- Hoyt’s New Cyclopedia of Practical Quotations Drawn from the Speech and Literature of All Nations, Ancient and Modern, Classic and Popular, in English and Foreign Text
Based on the 1922 book of the same title, this site includes more than 21,000 quotations in more than 900 subject categories.
- Oxford English Dictionary [Rutgers Restricted]
A searchable and continuously updated version of the definitive English language dictionary on word origins and usage. Allows searching of the entire text of the dictionary including words used in the definitions, etymologies, and illustrative quotations; authors of quotations; and full phrases.
- Oxford Essential Quotations
Includes more than 12,000 quotations from over 3,000 authors.
- Oxford Quotations database
Search a selection of popular quotations to find the complete quote and the source.
- Phrase Finder
Includes the meanings and origins of thousands of English sayings, phrases, idioms and expressions. Broken down into proverbs, American phrases, phrases coined by Shakespeare, nautical phrases, and phrases from the Bible, the site can be browsed or searched.
- Proverbs, Maxims and Phrases of All Ages
"The 20,500 selections in this classic reference work comprise an encyclopedic scope of English proverbs as well as translations from every major language." Originally published in 1887.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Search interface for the official series of Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. Messages and papers of the Presidents from 1789 to the most currently available are also accessible via the American Presidency Project
; papers from 1929 forward are available from the University of Michigan Digital Library
- Quotations and Proverbs Search
Attempts to collect and provide a single search interface for the largest Web-based sources of quotations and related items (proverbs, sayings, maxims, amorphisms, slogans, clichés, etc.). Many of the websites included also include the full text of speeches, author biographies, and quotes of the day.
Search for a quotation, browse a list of authors, or choose a topic. A bibliography of sources is included in the Site Information.
A searchable database of quotations gleaned from a variety of sources. Search by author, category, words, or phrase.
- Respectfully Quoted: a Dictionary of Quotations Requested from the Congressional Research Service
Based on the 1989 book, this site offers a keyword search interface plus a List of Subjects, an Author Index, and a Keyword and Subject Index.
Searchable collection of works by and about William Shakespeare; including Bartlett's Shakespeare Quotations and the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.
Search or browse more than 300,000 quotations from over 20,000 authors.
"A free online compendium of sourced quotations from notable people and creative works in every language, translations of non-English quotes, and links to Wikipedia for further information."