Subject Guide
TIPS
Reference sources are a good place to go to start your research, help you refine your topic, and to get an overview of a subject or a person. Many encyclopedias also include bibliographies at the ends of the articles - this is a quick way to start getting more detailed information on your subject!
Grove Music Online, part of Oxford Music Online, is an excellent starting point for research into major themes of all types of music, extensive articles on countries, composers, and musicians. Make sure to look at the bibliography at the end of the article. Also available in print at Music Ref ML100.N48 2001.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music contains numerous essays on musicians, writers, and record labels from all over the world of popular music. Also available in print at Music Ref ML102.P66G84 2006.
Online Encyclopedias
- Oxford Music OnlineIncludes Grove Music Online and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Notice that you can limit your search to one or all of the resources available in Oxford Music Online.
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicAccess The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music online or in print (at Music Ref ML100.G16 1998) for lengthy articles on the styles, culture, techniques, instruments, and genres of music from all over the world. You can either browse volumes (arranged geographically) or search the text of one or several volumes at once.
Print encyclopedias
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: Music Ref ML102.P66C66 2003ISBN: 0826463215This encyclopedia has more topical essays on countries, styles, and music business and is a recommended starting point for general research in popular music.
Here are a couple more relevant music encyclopedias you'll find in the Music Library. We have many more than the ones listed here. Try searching the catalog for your subject AND encyclopedias to find more. For example, if you were looking for encyclopedias about the blues, you'd search for "blues and encyclopedias" (without the quotation marks) in the catalog.
