Research Guides: Research in the Disciplines: Music and Music of the Moment: Finding scholarly articles in other subject areas

TIPS

Depending on your topic, you may benefit from searching other, non-music databases for resources for your research paper. I've listed some of the more common databases here, but you can find more databases by going to www.libraries.rutgers.edu and doing the following:

Click on Find Articles in the left-hand column
Click on Indexes and Databases in the middle column
Under the heading By Subject, click on a general subject category (social science, arts and humanities, etc.)
Choose a specific subject (Anthropology, Dance) and try one of the databases listed as Core or Related.

If you need more information, try looking at a Research Guide related to the topic.

Music therapy and psychology of music

PsychINFO
Use PsychINFO to find more articles related to music therapy and the psychological effects of music. Some full-text journals available. You can view a tutorial on how to search PsychINFO here.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive (CINAHL)
CINAHL contains nearly 400 full text journals, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.

Music and society

MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association's bibliography covers more than just literature. You can use this database to search for topics related to performance, drama, theater, dance or popular culture.
Sociological abstracts
Consider using Sociological abstracts to find articles on popular culture, urban culture, issues of fandom, social identity, and mass media.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus is an index in which you may find articles related to world and folk music and the cultures that produce it.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
The largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over 1.3 million citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education. ERIC provides full text for 328, 266 items. The digital library includes indexing for 1085 journals, 983 of which are comprehensively indexed. A majority of the journals are peer-reviewed.

General academic databases

Humanities Full-text
Humanities Full-text is a multi-disciplinary database offering indexing in disciplines including archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database that offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Includes magazines such as Time, the New Yorker, Newsweek, and the New York Times.