General Consumer Information
- AnnualCreditReport.com"This central site allows you to request a free credit file disclosure, commonly called a credit report, once every 12 months from each of the nationwide consumer credit reporting companies: Equifax, Experian and TransUnion."
- Better Business BureauFind the BBB that serves your area; file a complaint about a company, new car, or charity; and read online publications including company reports for selected cities.
- Charities and DonorsInformation from the BBB Wise Giving Alliance on hundreds of nonprofit organizations that solicit nationally or have national or international program services.
- ConsumerReports.orgProvides free consumer tips and information, but a subscription fee is required to access the comparison ratings and buying guides.
- Consumer Reports Buying Guide [Rutgers Restricted]Part of Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), the site provides full-text searching and access to issues of the Buying Guide from 1999 to the present.
- Consumer ResearchLinks to hundreds of web resources for product ratings and reviews, product safety, shopping online, food safety, and more.
- Consumer WorldA public service, non-commercial guide cataloging thousands of consumer resources.
- Federal Trade Commission: Consumer InformationLinks to publications with advice on avoiding scams and rip-offs, as well as tips on other consumer topics, and a consumer complaint form.
- Federal Trade Commission: Identity Theft"A one-stop national resource to learn about the crime of identity theft. It provides detailed information to help you deter, detect, and defend against identity theft."
- JDPower.comRating information and other consumer resources relating to autos, boats, electronics, finance/insurance, healthcare, homes, telecommunications, and travel.
- Publications.USA.govFull-text versions of hundreds of federal consumer publications on topics including education, employment, federal programs, health, and housing. Also on-line ordering for catalogs and print publications.
Automobiles
- AutoSitePrice and compare new and used vehicles; obtain the latest automotive news; get information on recalls; and more.
- Edmunds.comProvides automobile pricing information; extensive automobile reviews; consumer information; information about incentives and rebates; analysis of late-breaking developments in the automotive world; and more.
- Kelley Blue BookMillions of pricing reports for new and used cars every month. Site also includes information on financing, insurance, and new car reviews.
- MSN AutosResearch a new or used car; get the latest prices and reviews; and obtain advice and services on insurance and financing.
- Vehicle SafetyFrom the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the site includes information on safety problems and issues; testing results; regulations and standards; and research and development.
Forms and Legal Resources
- FindLawA site intended to give consumers a general understanding of legal issues and the legal process. Includes a information on courts and lawyers.
- FindLaw: Forms and ContractsLinks to legal forms and business contracts that are accessible on the Internet.
- Law and PatentsLinks to a variety of legal resources on the Internet.
- LawInfoIncludes a consumer-oriented collection of legal forms and documents. Site provides templates of the documents that are commonly used in thousands of routine legal transactions every day.
- Replace Your Vital DocumentsOfficial information and services from the U.S. Government.
- Search.USA.gov: FormsProvides provides citizens and businesses with a common access point to federal agency forms. Contains many, but not all, of the forms issued by agencies of the Federal governmen
- U.S. Legal FormsLinks to legal documents and forms, including wills, name change, real estate and more. Includes a Select by State option.
- Where to Write for Vital RecordsInformation from the National Center for Health Statistics on where to obtain birth, marriage, divorce, and death records from each of the states and territories.
Government Services and Benefits
- Disability.govProvides access to resources, services, and information available throughout the federal government.
- GovBenefits.govProvides information about state and federal government benefit and assistance programs.
- Replace Your Vital DocumentsOfficial information and services from the U.S. Government.
- USA.govLocate federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies; find information on services; and other resources.
- USA.gov: Senior Citizens' ResourcesAn online resource for senior citizens to obtain services and information from the federal government in areas such as health and nutrition; taxes; benefits; and employment.
Internet, WWW, Email, and Telemarketing
- Consumer Reports WebWatchProvides research reports relating to web credibility and related topics, guidelines for websites, and extensive information for consumers.
- Cyber Security TipsDescribes and offers advice about common security issues for non-technical computer users. From the U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team, part of the Department of Homeland Security.
- Federal Trade Commission: Identity Theft"A one-stop national resource to learn about the crime of identity theft. It provides detailed information to help you deter, detect, and defend against identity theft."
- Federal Trade Commission: SpamInformation about recent law enforcement actions against deceptive commercial email and spammers' responsibilities under the CAN-SPAM law. Includes tips on how to reduce the amount of spam email you receive.
- Internet Crime Complaint CenterFrom the FBI and the National White Collar Crime Center, the site provides a convenient and easy-to-use reporting mechanism that alerts authorities of a suspected criminal or civil violation.
- National Consumer League's Fraud CenterEnables consumers to learn to identify the danger signs of possible telemarketing and Internet fraud and to report suspected incidents to law enforcement agencies.
- National Do Not Call RegistryRegister a phone number or file a complaint.
- OnGuard OnlineTips from the federal government and the technology industry to help guard against Internet fraud, secure your computer, and protect your personal information.
- Privacy Resources and Sites on the Internet"A comprehensive listing of privacy resources currently available on the Internet. These include associations, indexes, search engines as well as individual websites and sources that supply the latest technology and information about privacy and how it relates to you and the Internet."
- Stay Safe OnlineFrom the National Cyber Security Alliance, the site offers tips and resources for consumers, educators, families, and businesses.
Places to Live
- Best Places to LiveView the annual picks from CNN and Money Magazine of best places to live in the United States, with statistical details for each city listed.
- HomeFairOffers a variety of moving and relocation resources including salary calculators, city reports, school reports, and other options for researching a location.
- Sperling's Best PlacesIncludes a city comparison feature, neighborhood profiles, school statistics, cost of living, crime rates, climate profiles, and more.
Product Information, Safety, and Recalls
- Consumer Product Safety CommissionThis U.S. government agency acts to reduce the risk of injury or death from consumer products. Website features a listing of product recalls; an area for reporting unsafe products; and full-text publications including Consumer Product Safety Review.
- ConsumerSearchOffers unbiased consumer product information and competitive analysis of products.
- Household Products DatabaseBrowse or search to find health and safety information on household products. From the National Library of Medicine.
- Recalls.govProvides the latest recall information, links for reporting dangerous products, and safety tips.
- SaferProducts.govIncludes a product safety information database as well as information on how to report an unsafe product.
Stephanie Bartz |
Contact Info Archibald S. Alexander Library Rutgers, The State University 169 College Ave. New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163 Phone: 848-932-6113 FAX: 732-932-1101 sbartz@rci.rutgers.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
