- Biographical Databases
"Lists databases or static web sites produced by state government or their political subdivisions that provide biographical sketches of authors, state officials, famous state residents, etc." Most content relates to legislators and other state officials.
- Biographical Dictionary
Covers notable men and women from ancient times to the present day. Searchable by name, birth year, death year, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, achievements, and other keywords.
The Internet Public Library's collection of links to biographical resources on the web.
- Biography Collection Complete [Rutgers Restricted]
Part of the JerseyClicks database collection, this resource offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas.
- Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Part of Chambers Reference Online, a free searchable version of the 1997 edition of the title covering international figures in areas such as the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business. Select Biographical from the mouseover menu next to the search box.
- Current Biography [Rutgers Restricted]
Full text biographies and obituaries from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook, from 1940 to the present. Coverage focuses on "living leaders in all fields of human accomplishment," including politics, science, the arts and entertainment, sports, and business.
- Encyclopedia of World Biography [Rutgers Restricted]
"A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture." Four supplementary volumes to this 2nd edition are linked separately. A freely accessible version
of the Encyclopedia of World Biography
is also available.
- Encyclopedia of World Biography: Supplement, Volume 24 [Rutgers Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of World Biography: Supplement, Volume 25 [Rutgers Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of World Biography: Supplement, Volume 26 [Rutgers Restricted]
- Encyclopedia of World Biography: Supplement, Volume 27 [Rutgers Restricted]
- Famous People
Provides life history and biography of world famous people in various spheres of life.
- Find a Grave
Indexes the graves of noteworthy people and is searchable by name, location, date, or claim to fame.
- HyperHistory Online
Lifelines of important persons from their date of birth to their date of death; timelines for major civilizations; and year-by-year listings of important events in science, culture, and politics. Includes maps and links to short encyclopedia-like entries on people, places, movements, and events in history. Select People to retrieve lifelines and biographical information.
- InfoPlease Almanac: Biography
Search page for biographies from a variety of almanacs, a dictionary, and other sources.
- Marquis Biographies Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Brief biographical information in directory format from more than 20 Marquis titles including Who’s Who in America and its regional volumes, Who’s Who in Business and Finance and other volumes covering professions, Who’s Who of American Women, Who’s Who in American Art, Who’s Who in American Politics, and Who’s Who in American History (featuring all of the biographies from the Who Was Who in America volumes from 1607-1985).
- Notable Names Database
Includes information on more than 35,000 "Persons for whom the public has demonstrated a permanent interest." Also includes the NNDB Mapper, "a visual tool for exploring the connections between people in NNDB."
- Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Thematic Series: The 1960s [Rutgers Restricted]
"Biographical sketches of 647 figures -- from the artists and writers to the politicians and military figures, the reformers and the criminals -- who flourished during the tumultuous 1960s. The signed entries, written by scholars, begin with a brief summary of the person's chronology and important accomplishments and is followed by a narrative of the subject's life."
Browse alphabetically, or search for specific names, to find brief biographical profiles plus links to Web sites relating to famous people.
- World Biographical Index [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides short biographical entries on more than 5 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Also serves as an index to the more complete articles in K.G. Saur's Biographical Archives collections compiled from international biographical reference works published from the 16th to 21st century.