Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Samples from QuickSearch
Chicago Manual of Style Online [Rutgers Restricted]
The complete manual, including both the 16th and 17th editions.
Technical writing : a practical guide for engineers, scientists, and nontechnical professionals [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes tips and examples of how to write, edit, and publish materials of a technical nature, including books, articles, reports, and electronic media.
AMA Handbook of Business Writing: the Ultimate Guide to Style, Grammar, Usage, Punctuation, Construction, and Formatting [Rutgers Restricted]
Begins with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Includes sample documents.
Short Handbook for writing essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences
A writing manual used for decades at the University of California, Davis.
Academic Writer's Toolkit: A User’s Manual [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers the process and products of academic writing and differentiates between business writing skills for memos, proposals, and reports, and the scholarly writing that occurs in journals and books.
Chicago Manual of Style
The Q & A section "interprets the Manual’s recommendations and uncoils its intricacies." Includes a Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide and other Tools. The Manual itself is only available with a subscription.
Common Errors in English Usage
Based on the book of the same name, the Guide includes a clickable table of contents and provides clear, concise entries, often including examples. By Paul Brians.
Concise Guide to Grammar and Style
Explains common deviations from the standard use of English including punctuation, words that sound alike, and phrases.
Elements of Style
The full-text of the 1918 first edition of William Strunk's book intended to provide "in brief space the principal requirements of plain English style."
Guide to Grammar and Writing
An easy to use guide with an extensive index, a search engine, FAQs, and a form for additional questions.
Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue
Offers online writing, research, and MLA, APA, and Chicago style help. Includes sections on the writing process; professional, technical, and job search writing; general academic writing; and more.
NCBI Style Guide
Provides "advice on guides to style, examples of common word forms at NCBI, and helpful grammar and language tips." From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Provides verb conjugations for hundreds of languages, ranging from national and international languages to regional and even extinct languages. Includes English, French, Spanish, German, Chinese, and many more.
Includes sections on stages of the writing process; grammar and punctuation; improving your writing style; and more. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science
Guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing designed to help students communicate their technical work. From Penn State University.
Writing Guides - Harvard Writing Project
"A wide range of writing guides that encourage better writing by giving students practical advice and useful examples." Includes guides for disciplines or interdisciplinary programs, specific courses, specific genres of writing (such as senior theses), and General Education courses.