Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on research in women and gender studies. Related Rutgers guides include:
Feminist Research Methods
Feminist Research Methods : An Annotated Bibliography
Connie Miller. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
Annotated bibliography arranged by social science discipline of "sources that address explicitly how feminists practicing research behave differently from other researchers" published between the 1920s and 1990.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Scholarly encyclopedias can give you an overview of a topic as well as some basic bibliography.
- Encyclopedia of Feminism
- Lisa Tuttle. New York, Facts on File, 1986.
- Brief entries on terms, organizations, and people.
- Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory
- Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2016.
- "Provides a rich overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts that feminist theorists have developed to analyze the known world."
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia
- Helen Tierney, editor. Revised edition. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1999. 3 volumes.
- A good starting point for research! Signed essays on topics relating to women, most with historical overviews, research findings, and selected references. Sample Article
- Black Women in America
- Darlene Clark Hine, editer in chief. 2nd edition. New York, Oxford University Press.2005. 3 vols.
- Over 500 topical and biographical entries with bibliographies relating to African-American women from 1619 to 2004.
- Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
- San Diego, Calif.:Academic, c2001. 2 vols.
- About 100 articles, each contributed by an expert in the social or behavioral sciences, on "the many topics that encompass current research and scholarship on the psychology of women and gender." Articles on such topics as "Abortion and Its Health Effects," "Achievement," "Body Image Concerns," "Career Achievement," "Hate Crimes," "Imprisonment in the Unites States," "Military Women," "Political Behavior," "Sport and Athletics," and "Work-Family Balance." Each article contains a glossary, cross-references, and a "Suggested Reading" section. Sample Article
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
- Jodi O'Brien, editor. Thousand Oaks, California, Sage Publications, 2008.
- Over 450 signed entries with brief bibliographies. Worldwide scope. Rutgers-restricted Access
- The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
- Kathryn Cullen-Dupont. New York, Facts on File, 1996.
- Entries on terms, events, legislation, speeches, movements, organizations and individuals. Suggested readings after each entry and extensive bibliography. 34 primary source documents in Appendix. Sample Page
- Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
- Jessica Bomarito and Jeffrey W. Hunter, project editors. Detroit, Thomson Gale, 2005. 6 vols.
- "This six-volume set explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more."
- Rutgers-restricted Access
- From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women: An Encyclopedia of Leaders, Causes & Issues
- Suzanne O-Dea. Millerton, New York, Grey House Pub., 2006. 2 vols.
- Over 800 entries on women and American politics. While the majority of entries are biographical in nature, there are also entries on issues, organizations, and events, as well a large number of entries on significant court cases. Table of Contents
- LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
- New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 3 vols.
- More than 500 scholarly entries on LGBT identities, communities, cultures, movements, and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse
- Laura L. Finley, editor. Santa Barbara, California, ABC-CLIO, 2013. Rutgers-restricted Access
Bibliographies are great for finding out what has been written/is available on a specific topic.
- African American Women: An Annotated Bibliography
- Veronica G. Thomas, Kisha Braithwaite, and Paula Mitchell. Westport, CT., Greenwood Press, 2001.
- Antifeminism in American Thought: An Annotated Bibliography
- Cynthia D. Kinnard. Boston, Mass., G.K. Hall, 1986.
- Books, articles and pamphlets from colonial times to 1920. Excellent extensive annotations organized around eight topics: Women's Rights and Feminism. Woman Suffrage: Anti-Suffrage Periodicals. Domesticity, Femininity and Motherhood. Education of Girls and Women. Women's Intellect and Character. Women's Work, Professional Employment and Creativity. Religion. Women's Bodies.
- Bibliography of Sexuality Studies in Latin America
- Adam Griego, Daniel Balderston, and Donna J. Guy.
- Black American Feminisms: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography
- Compiled by Sherri L. Barnes. A multidisciplinary subject bibliography of black American feminist writings.
- Gays, Lesbian and Transgendered People in Motion Pictures: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
- The History of Rape: A Bibliography
- Stefan Blaschke
- SexBiblio: Bibliography of the History of Western Sexuality
- Database of about 25,000 titles of primary and secondary literature of the history of sexuality in Europe, the U.S. and Canada from 1700 to 2007/2008. Also includes important titles of the sexual history of Antiquity and the Middle Ages, including non-Western societies.
- New Jersey Womens' History: Bibliography
- Patricia A. Beaber. 2003. From the Women's Project of New Jersey.
- United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990 : A Comprehensive Bibliography
- Mary Ellen Huls. Westport, Conn.,Greenwood Press, 1993. 2 v.
- Almost 7,000 entries, many with short annotations, of reports produced by U.S. agencies, commissions, and Congress "on women or on topics directly affecting women's health and welfare" published between 1800 and 1990. Topical arrangement: "Suffrage and Political Participation," "Education," "Violence Against Women," "Female Offenders," "Pay Equity," "The Women's Bureau," etc.
- Vietnam Women's Studies Bibliography
- Research directory, as well as a list of books and articles relating to Vietnamese women. From the Library at the University of California, Berkeley.
- Bibliography of Sources on Gender, Korea and Korean Americans
- Lynn Thiesmeyer. English language materials. See also Gender Bibliography in Hangul (Korean).
- Women in the U.S. Army: An Annotated Bibliography
- U.S. Army Research Institute for the Behavioral and Social Sciences. Alexandria, VA., 2002.
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies