Skip to main content
Access to Library Resources
Tips for using the Library!
Get a Library Pin Number
You need a pin number to activate your library bar code. Your library bar code is located on the back of your Rutgers ID card.
Connect from Off-Campus
Instructions for connecting to library resources with your Net ID from off-campus.
Request an Article
This brief video from Mei Ling Lo and Jill Nathanson at the Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine tells how to request an article that you cannot obtain electronically or at your local Rutgers library.
How Do I...?
Answers to your most frequently asked questions about using our library system.
For more help using Rutgers library resources, including tutorials, citation managers, and tips on avoiding plagiarism, visit our Learning Tools pages or call the Dana Library reference desk at 973-353-5901.
Quick Guides to Judging Information Quality
How do you know if what you've found - book, article, or Web site - is a good source?
Some Multidisciplinary Databases
If you need to find scholarly articles for your course work, try these databases:
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database ideal for undergraduate students. Searches exact phrases. Will output references in MLA format.
Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)
Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Full Text@Rutgers if readily available. Does not prepare bibliographic output; you must use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.
Full-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.
Recent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Additional Rutgers Databases
We have over 300 indexes and databases--on nearly any subject! Explore by subject or database title.