Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GeoRef [Rutgers Restricted]
Coverage is from 1693 to the present for North America, and from 1933 to the present worldwide. This is the primary database for geology and other subjects withing the geosciences, indexing scholarly journals, books, maps, U.S. and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports and government documents.
Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey [Rutgers Restricted]
Large-scale maps of 265 New Jersey cities ranging from 1884 to the 1950s. These fire insurance maps show the outline of individual buildings along with related information. Some of the maps are also freely available via Princeton University; the starting point is an Excel spreadsheet
. Map coverage varies by city.
US Census Bureau: Geography Programs
Provides access to interactive maps, reference files, reference maps, and other geographic data.
US Topo: Maps for America
Provides access to United States topographic maps that can be viewed or downloaded. Includes a link to the Historical Topographic Map Collection.
USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
Search by location and click on the resulting map to retrieve a timeline of all available maps. Maps dating as far back as the 1800s can be selected from the timeline for viewing.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Maps & Atlases
A more extensive list of map sites is included among the Electronic Reference Sources pages.